Living Your Life Purpose

Finding my purpose in life is something that has troubled me for the past decade or so. How I wished I could be one of those people who knew from an early age exactly what their path was in life. You know the kind of people who have always known since they were very young children that they wanted to grow up to be a doctor, or a teacher, or a scientist and they go on to do exactly that. I am not one of those people.

Over the years I have harboured many ambitions and dreams. I wanted to be singer, then an actress, maybe a vet, perhaps a lawyer, definitely a radio presenter, or possibly a news reader. I’d love to be a sunset photographer, an artist, a writer or a dog hugger – oh wait, that’s not actually a job, but I’d be really good at it! 🙂 But above all, I wanted to find my purpose.

I’ve felt lost, confused and, at times, really frustrated and annoyed with myself. I’ve spent many hours dwelling on what my life purpose might be and which job or career could help me to discover it. I’ve tried a myriad of jobs over the years and never found one that really resonated with my soul. But three years ago, when I began The Pollyanna Plan, something shifted.

In fact, my first ever reason to feel glad/happy/joyful on Day 1 of The Pollyanna Plan  (I spent 1 whole year finding a reason to feel glad/happy/joyful every single day)  was that writing this blog had given me a sense of purpose. From that day onwards things started to change.

It wasn’t like it happened over night, it was more of a gradual transition from believing that my life purpose had to be tied to a specific type of job or career, to realising that it wasn’t necessarily about “doing” something (or in fact anything), but rather it was about “being”. And in the words of Robert F. Kennedy, it was about contributing “in some way to making things better.”

Finding Your Life Purpose - The Pollyanna Plan

A while back I listened to an interview with the wonderful Jack Canfield, who described his wife as a “day maker” – someone who makes people’s day. I absolutely loved that! Something inside me lit up when I heard those words and then I knew. I finally knew what I wanted to be in life, what my purpose was all about.

My purpose in life is to be an inspirer, an uplifter (makes me sound like a bra, but I mean someone who makes other people feel a little, or a lot, bit happier!) and a manifesting mentor. That’s what brings me joy in life and that’s what I’m passionate about. When I think about those things being my life purpose, I feel excited and eager with anticipation. I feel alive and in tune with who I really am and, to me, that is what life is all about.

So, if you haven’t found your life purpose yet, please don’t get despondent. Maybe you’ve just been looking in the wrong places. Perhaps you’re a raiser-of-happy-children, a laugh-maker, a peace-keeper, a life-brightener, a smile-sharer or a good-vibe-spreader? There are so many marvellous things for you to discover yourself to be.

And whatever it is that you find that you are, whatever it is that makes your soul shine, please be more of that. Please live your purpose and share it as much as possible, because that is exactly what this world needs. ❤

© The Pollyanna Plan – 2016 –  All Rights Reserved.
Online Mentoring – Work With Me
Follow The Pollyanna Plan on Facebook
Join The Pollyanna Plan 30 Day Challenge Group on Facebook
Take a look at my pictures on Instagram


5 thoughts on “Living Your Life Purpose

  1. Beautiful! Reading your blog really makes me think of all the good things I have in my life. It gives me confidence and strength to make my life better.
    You always put a smile on my face through your words..
    Thank you

  2. I agree that life purpose is more about a way of being than about accomplishing any particular thing. All we take with us when we go is our souls, so my life’s purpose is to have the best soul possible by the time I’m finished here.

    And I love the day-maker thing – my mom and I try to do that everywhere we go, just by being goofballs or complimenting random people. I can’t count the number of times that someone has told us we made their day! Which always makes mine in return.

    I’m sure you’ll be awesome at whatever you do, because you’re simply awesome – and if you still have any concerns about it, you might enjoy this:

    http://www.supersoul.tv/supersoul-sessions/elizabeth-gilbert-flight-hummingbird-curiosity

    1. Thank you Jenny! You are awesome too – you’re a day-maker, a laugh-provoker and much, much more. I’m going to check out the link now. I love Elizabeth Gilbert, so I already know I’m going to enjoy it. 😀 xx

Leave a Reply

