Success Journaling And The Nature Of Progress

There’s great power in focusing on your successes in life – even when it feels like you have none and nothing is going right at all. In fact, ESPECIALLY when it feels like you have none and nothing is going right at all.

Take, for example, the (rather prolonged and not so much fun) health blip I’ve been through recently. I was really feeling like I was stuck. Every day seemed the same and nothing felt like it was changing or improving. At least that’s what I thought until I began to change the way I was looking at things.

IMG_1140

I decided I really needed to do something (anything!) to help turn things around. So, instead of focusing on all the things about my situation that were staying the same, I began writing down and documenting my successes and improvements, no matter how small and insignificant they seemed.

You see, I’ve found that progress is a tricky, slippery business. Unless we see huge, tangible shifts in our day to day lives, we can become despondent and disillusioned, as it feels like we’re not making any progress at all. Only we are. Really, we are!

Progress is often disguised as a series of tiny victories, almost imperceptible improvements, the tiniest of tiny tiptoe steps. But they all add up – that’s the cool part! 🙂 I guess what I’m trying to say is that progress isn’t always the huge leap forward we think it should be, but rather it’s a cumulative effect of small successes. And it’s those small successes that I’ve been training myself to focus on every day by writing them down and reminding myself of them as often as I remember to.

To begin with my successes were things like, “I had a shower and dried my hair without having to rest afterwards”, which, granted, doesn’t sound like much, particularly after how far I’ve come in my healing journey, but it was a success nevertheless. So, I continued focusing on these tiny improvements day in and day out, trying my hardest not to get discouraged and keeping my sights firmly set on the direction I wanted to go. And now, a couple of months on, I can include being able to walk my dog, Frankie, twice a day among my successes, which is a massive improvement. Yay!

Success journaling is essentially a way of editing how we view our lives – we edit OUT all the not so great stuff and edit IN anything that is a step in the direction we want to be heading. One of the many benefits I’ve discovered is that the more successes or improvements I have focussed on and written down, the more successes I have found. Bonus! 🙂

So, if you’re feeling stuck in any area of your life, maybe success journalling might be just the tool for you. It’s helped me enormously and I highly recommend it.

I’d love to hear how you get on – after all, it’s even more fun when you can celebrate your successes with someone else.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2015- All Rights Reserved.

Follow The Pollyanna Plan on Facebook
Join The Pollyanna Plan 30 Day Challenge Group on Facebook
Take a look at my photos on Instagram
Connect with The Pollyanna Plan on Twitter


4 thoughts on “Success Journaling And The Nature Of Progress

Leave a Reply

