“Let Yourself Be Silently Drawn By The Strange Pull Of What You Really Love. It Will Not Lead You Astray”

Sunflower silk painting

Long ago, in a far away life, I was busy searching for a “proper career”. I’d flitted between all manner of different jobs, but had never found anything I truly loved. As my mid-twenties approached, I was resolutely working in marketing and advertising, determined that this would be my path, even though I just didn’t fit into that world. It was time to settle down and be a real grown up, I had decided, and I thought I was happy enough with the direction my life was taking. But somewhere along the line I had stopped listening to my heart.

And then chronic illness hit….hard!

I won’t bore you with the details (you can read more about it here if you’re curious), but suffice to say my whole world got flipped upside down. However, for something that could be perceived as being a very negative experience, many, many positives have come out of it. And one of my favourite blessings is that this healing journey has helped me to re-connect with who I really am and re-discover my joy.

When I was little I used to secretly dream of being a writer and/or an artist. I used to love writing stories and drawing pictures to go with them. I still have “books” I wrote when I was in junior school, complete with artwork and sewn together pages. In fact, Art and English were always my favourite subjects in school. But in my adult years I had became so focused on doing the things I thought I “should” be doing that I completely lost sight of the things that make me light up.

And so being ripped away from the life I was living, although very tough, has guided me gently back towards those things that fill my heart up and make my soul shine. For starters, I was inspired to create The Pollyanna Plan blog and begin writing again. More recently I have started to paint – choosing to paint things I love in bright, vibrant colours that bring me joy (see my latest painting on silk above). It’s altogether a beautiful, healing experience and I can honestly, hand-on-heart say that this new direction in life feels right and true for me. It makes me feel alive again.

And can you believe it, I’ve already sold my first few paintings! 😀 If you’re interested, you can take a look at my work on my Facebook page dedicated to my artwork, Nina Elisa Designs, or my Etsy shop.

rumi
Image source: https://pranafitnessorg.wordpress.com/2012/10/03/drawn

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2015- All Rights Reserved.

Follow The Pollyanna Plan on Facebook
Join The Pollyanna Plan 30 Day Challenge Group on Facebook
Take a look at my photos on Instagram
Connect with The Pollyanna Plan on Twitter


3 thoughts on ““Let Yourself Be Silently Drawn By The Strange Pull Of What You Really Love. It Will Not Lead You Astray”

Leave a Reply

