Making The Not So Fun Stuff, Fun!

“In every job that must be done. There is an element of fun. You find the fun and snap! The job’s a game.”
A Spoonful Of Sugar – Mary Poppins

I have to admit that I know all of the words to all of the songs from Mary Poppins, as well as most of the words to the film. Yep, I’ve watched it that many times. 🙂

One of my favourite moments is the scene where Mary Poppins sings “A Spoonful Of Sugar”. You know the one where she snaps her fingers and all the toys and clothes magically fly back into their rightful places, the beds make themselves and even the pictures on the wall get straightened. It looks so much fun and I’ve tried tidying up my bedroom that way many times over the years. Needless to say, I’m still working on it!

But even if I haven’t quite got the snapping finger thing down yet (never say never!), I think there’s definitely something to learn from all of this.

Life isn’t always filled with excitement and wonderful things to do. Sometimes we have to mop floors, do the ironing, fill out boring paperwork, have meetings with our bank and tidy up our bedrooms. Today I have to do a combination of all of these not-so-thrilling tasks and I really, REALLY wasn’t looking forward to any of them. But then I came across this picture on Pinterest and it was as if the Universe was sending me a gentle reminder:

5f52a26307292a8c9afb2fbb92a8b1c4

Suddenly I remembered the scene from the movie, the catchy song, the finger snapping and how things can be fun if I intend them to be. So, instead of dreading all the things I have to get done today, I’m actually quite looking forward to them.

I’m sprinkling a little Mary Poppins magic around and playing a “how much fun can I make this?” game, where even the most tiresome jobs have the potential to be enjoyable. I’m going to iron, tidy and clean whilst singing and dancing to my favourite songs, I’m going to fill out paperwork with a smile and time myself to see how fast I can do it and I’m definitely going to try and brighten up someone’s day at the bank.

So why not ask yourself the same question today and see how much fun you can make the not so fun stuff? 🙂

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2015- All Rights Reserved.

Follow The Pollyanna Plan on Facebook

Join The Pollyanna Plan 30 Day Challenge Group on Facebook

Take a look at my photos on Instagram

Connect with The Pollyanna Plan on Twitter


Leave a Reply

