Face Not Reality! Part 1

Errm…excuse me life, but I have a blog to write you know? Having vowed (to myself) that I would post once a week this year, it has now been nearly 2 months since my last blog post. Oops! But what a crazy, frantic, exciting, whirlwind of a 2 months it has been.

The last time we chatted (well, I talked at you), I was experiencing a bit of a poor health blip, which I’m happy to say I bounced back from quick as a flash. 🙂 During this time, one of my good friends from The Pollyanna Plan 30 Day Challenge Group on Facebook came up with the awesome suggestion that we try our own 30 day experiment (now we’re nearly up to 60 days), inspired by the teachings of Abraham Hicks, which goes a little something like this:

Never face reality. Ever. Or at least try your very best not to, unless your reality happens to be completely amazingly awesome. In which case, by all means face it, dance with it and roll around in it! 🙂 Otherwise… Do. Not. Face. Reality. Ever. ebfd5931183002e247982be00ed5b106 For those uninitiated in all things Law of Attraction, this may sound a little (or a big lot) crazy. However, the point of all this is that you magnify and attract into your life more of what you focus your thoughts, feelings and vibes on. Thinking about and pouring all your precious time and energy into all the things in your current reality that aren’t going well, or are a little messy, or are a whole lot crappy, not only isn’t all that much fun, but it gets you stuck in a rut, attracting more of the same straight to you.

So, by ignoring completely all the things in your life that aren’t (yet) going according to plan and instead focusing on all the things that ARE going right for you, as well as telling yourself a new story about how you’d like things to be (pretending that they are already working out perfectly for you), in theory should help turn things around. But what about in practice?

Well, here’s how the not facing reality experiment is working out for me. In fact there’s so much I want to share with you that I’m going to split this post up.

This is Part 1:

After a few days of feeling unwell back at the beginning of March, I began IGNORING reality, which in this case was feeling ill. Instead I pretended to myself that I felt fantastic and told myself how wonderfully talented my body was at healing. When I caught myself facing reality, I kept reminding myself of my new story – that I felt perfectly strong and healthy and was having a blast doing all the things I love to do.

Naturally, at first this felt like a big, fat lie, but I was committed to the experiment, so I did it anyway. And bit by bit, I was able to stop thinking about, and focusing on illness so much and within a couple of days I was back to feeling healthy again. Really, it was that fast – incredible!

My Perfect For Me Puppy

Since I moved into my own place at the end of last year, I’ve wanted to get a dog of my own. I even wrote “getting my perfect-for-me-puppy” on the list I made at the beginning of the year of 100 wonderful things I’d love to do in 2015.

But I had specific requirements: I wanted a very small dog as I live in an apartment, preferably one that doesn’t shed hair, one who is really affectionate and likes to sit on laps, doesn’t require a huge amount of exercise and is either a puppy or still quite young.

I deliberated over getting a pedigree pup, as certain breeds fulfil all these requirements, but pedigrees are super expensive and with so many stray and abandoned dogs in Portugal, I really wanted to adopt one. However, the chances of finding such a dog were (very) slim – someone from a rescue charity actually laughed and said good luck with that!

But in the spirit of not facing reality, I wrote out my list – put it out to the Universe – and kept talking with my not-facing-reality-friend about how I was so happy and grateful that I’d found the perfect-for-me puppy. Within a few hours of this conversation, I was scrolling through the page of another dog rescue site and I saw an external appeal for the tiniest, cutest, most adorable dog I’ve ever seen. I arranged to go and visit him the next morning and as soon as we met I knew he was “The One”. 😀 He’s everything I wrote on that list, even down to the “no shedding” part.

This is Frankie everyone, isn’t he adorable (ok, well I am biased)?!

Me and Frankie2

Having Frankie in my life has been such a blessing, even if the first few weeks took a little adjusting to for us both – my energy had to catch up to our new routine and we both had to adjust to our “new normal” (a phrase I have adopted from another good friend from The Pollyanna Plan Facebook Group).

But now things have settled down, we are having such fun. We go on lovely long walks together across the cliff tops, we have lots of cuddles, he’s a big hit with everyone who meets him and I love him to bits (hopefully he feels the same about me).

So that’s just the start of the not facing reality experiment…there’s more to come. Keep your eyes peeled for the next instalment and if you fancy giving it a go yourself, then I’d love to hear how you get on.

Speak soon lovelies!

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2015- All Rights Reserved.

Follow The Pollyanna Plan on Facebook
Join The Pollyanna Plan 30 Day Challenge Group on Facebook
Connect with The Pollyanna Plan on Twitter


4 thoughts on “Face Not Reality! Part 1

  1. So inspiring to read! I can hardly wait for part 2.
    So glad you found Frankie. He couldn’t have hoped for a better mum. And look at him in the pic soaking up all the attention…such a stud! 🙂
    Take care. x

    1. Yikes! I’ve just realised I hadn’t replied to your comment. Sorry!!! Not facing reality has helped me hugely. It’s not always easy to do, but like anything it just takes a bit of practice. And thank you, my puppy really is the cutest thing ever, but then again I’m slightly biased! 😉

Leave a Reply

