Oh, The Places You’ll Go!

The thing about positivity is that it’s relatively easy to focus your thoughts and feelings on appreciation, gratitude and joy when life is flowing smoothly. But when you hit a bump in the road, or you get forced to take the wiggly, winding scenic route, things can get a little trickier.

Perhaps the most important thing I’ve learnt from The Pollyanna Plan is that it’s on those pesky, trickier days – the days when I feel least like being happy or optimistic and when I’m tempted to start feeling sorry for myself – that I need to make a concerted effort to turn things around. It’s on days like today when I’m stuck in bed feeling unwell that I need to summon all my Pollyanna vibes and get my happy on.

But, as Dr Seuss so rightly says: “When you’re in a slump, you’re not in for much fun. Unslumping yourself is not easily done.”

Unslumping yourself is something that takes practice, effort and a little sprinkle of creativity, because some days the gap between feeling like crap and feeling super happy and grateful is just too wide to cross in one big leap. Sometimes you need to take the little by little approach and ease yourself in gently to your good feeling place.

So, today as I was lying in bed wondering where to begin with getting my happy vibes flowing, I thought I’d look for inspiration on Pinterest. That’s when I came across this photo of a beautiful beach and it hit me – “Oh, The Places You’ll Go”.

7f316599aeb08d79bafc62c94ac0386f

And just like that I was off…in my mind…imagining all the wonderful places I will go, collecting pictures and day dreaming. As the brain can’t tell the difference between real and imagined experiences (weird but true) I honestly could feel myself feeling happier and more optimistic with each minute that passed and with each beautiful place I found.

I know that this little health blip is exactly that – a blip. It will pass. I will feel healthy again very soon. And in the meantime, I’m off on my imaginary travels feeling (and looking, of course) fantastic! Result! 🙂

So if you’re feeling kinda slumpy today, why not come with me? Oh! The Places we will go…

Star gazing on Song Saa Island in Cambodia:

a1e83ebba7431546107d357b1c3947b9

Watching the sun set over Florence in Italy.

6aeda60178b00a0f9cff6a9fb031a34a

Stopping off for a refreshing dip on this Greek Island.

dae4be47644120be4504afedf9d0563a

And watching the Northern Lights from a glass igloo:

76c4ccd6ec87397f36487d13ed110bd5

And you know what? Suddenly I’ve found my reason to feel glad/happy/joyful today – this amazingly beautiful planet we are privileged to live on.

I’m open to suggestions, so please feel free to let me know where you’d like to visit by leaving a comment or a picture below.

“You’re off to Great Places!
Today is your day!
Your mountain is waiting.
So…get on your way!”
-Dr Seuss

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2015- All Rights Reserved.
All images taken from Pinterest

Follow The Pollyanna Plan on Facebook
Join The Pollyanna Plan 30 Day Challenge Group on Facebook
Connect with The Pollyanna Plan on Twitter


5 thoughts on “Oh, The Places You’ll Go!

  1. Thankful for my neighbor who plowed my driveway so I only had to shovel snow from the walkway. With that I would be happy any where that’s warm. Thanks for the great post!
    /Users/jimbencie/Pictures/Lauderdale 11:04/P1000002.JPG

    1. Thank you so much for your comment. And YAY for helpful neighbours – that’s a great reason to feel thankful! 🙂 Anywhere warm sounds good to me too. Hopefully spring isn’t too far away for all of us in the northern hemisphere. I’m not sure if you tried to upload a photo, but I can’t seem to see it on here. Feel free to post it to my Facebook page if you’d like. I’m looking for places to go on my next imaginary trip! 🙂

Leave a Reply

