What’s The Worst Thing That Would Happen If I Didn’t Do This Right Now?

I haven’t been online much for the past few weeks and although I’ve missed you all, my unusual quietness has been for a very good reason, as I’ve been out living life and enjoying my blossoming good health. Yippee!

So, this afternoon I have been catching up with things like answering emails – there are so many I hadn’t even opened yet – which is something I have been putting off doing for the past few days. Before the start of The Pollyanna Plan, I would have made myself get on with this task even though I really didn’t feel in the right mood for it. But I’ve learnt now to wait, to not feel bad about not doing the things I feel I have to, or should be doing and instead to focus on what brings me joy. And every time I do this, I find that I am suddenly inspired to do the not-so-enjoyable tasks, which I then complete easily and in a calm and happy way.

I was just pondering writing a blog post about it (this one here!), when amongst all the emails I need to/have to reply to, I found this daily quote from Abraham Hicks, which describes perfectly what I have discovered for myself:

“If there is something that you have to do, resist the temptation to do it under duress. Ask yourself, “What’s the worst thing that would happen if I didn’t do this?” And if you can get away with not doing it at all, don’t do it. And then imagine what would it feel like to have this done. Spend a day or two, if you can, just 15 minutes here, 5 minutes here, 2 minutes here, here and here, imagining it completed in a way that pleases you! And then, the next time you decide that you’re going to take action about it, the action is going to be a whole lot easier.” — Abraham-Hicks

1600x1200-cute-christmas-puppies-high-definition-wallpapers

 

Image: http://www.fallfade.com/christmas-puppies-wallpaper-x/

So, in the run up to the holiday season, with all the things that “have to” or really “should” be done, if I’m not feeling inspired to take action, I’m going to be asking myself, “What’s the worst thing that would happen if I didn’t do this right now?” And from that place of letting myself off the hook and of relaxing and going with the flow, I suspect life will run a lot more smoothly.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2014- All Rights Reserved.

Follow The Pollyanna Plan on Facebook
Join The Pollyanna Plan 30 Day Challenge Group on Facebook
Connect with The Pollyanna Plan on Twitter


2 thoughts on “What’s The Worst Thing That Would Happen If I Didn’t Do This Right Now?

Leave a Reply

