The Magical Power Of Writing Stuff Down

There’s something about writing stuff down that’s very cathartic. I don’t know quite how it works, but somewhere between the thoughts forming in my head and the act of writing, or typing, I start to feel a little better about everything.

Take today, for example. Today has (so far) not been a great day. In fact, the past couple of weeks have not been too great either. I have been in full autoimmune flare up mode again – feverish, weak, exhausted, brain fog…did I mention exhausted? And added to this we are in the throes of moving house.

I’ve struggled on, sorting through all my stuff – boy, did I have a lot of things I no longer need, want, or even knew I had! I’ve given away bags (lots of them) to charity shops, binned a few things, sold a few things and packed up what I’m keeping into boxes.

In theory, this should be such a wonderful, exciting time of new beginnings, getting rid of the old, making way for the new and all that. And I am excited and thankful, I really am, I’m just not well enough to fully enjoy it right now. In fact, it all feels quite daunting and overwhelming, which is so frustrating, as just a couple of months ago I felt great – better than I’d felt for years and I could have done all this sorting/packing lark with ease and joy and still had energy to do lots more.

But, enough about all that. I think it’s high time to change my focus in the only way I know how. And that is to go all Pollyanna about it and look for a reason to feel glad/happy/joyful.

Here goes….

Today I am happy and grateful for the magical power of writing stuff down. Really, it’s so therapeutic. I began writing this post feeling blah and not being able to muster a smile. But, as my fingers have tapped away on the keyboard and my thoughts have spilled out onto the page, I have started to feel lighter, more hopeful and happier.

003-2012-2013-alexander-wells

Image source: http://designyoutrust.com/2013/05/various-2012-2013-by-alexander-wells

Writing stuff down is like a reminder to myself. You know how when someone gives you advice and it’s exactly what you knew you were going to do anyway, but it feels good to hear it from someone else? That’s what writing does for me. It’s almost as if I don’t listen to myself, unless I see my words written down.

So, this is the advice I’m giving myself to get me through this little health blip:

You know how much healthier and stronger you can feel because you have been there, done that and got the sparkly t-shirt. If you’ve done it once, you can easily do it again. So, for now, chill out, take a deep breath, go easy on yourself, be kind to yourself, because you are doing fantastically well. Focus on things that make you smile, feel grateful for the little things and above all, trust that much better days are just around the corner.

And now I’m sitting here smiling. See, it really is magic! 🙂

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2014- All Rights Reserved.

Follow The Pollyanna Plan on Facebook
Join The Pollyanna Plan 30 Day Challenge Group on Facebook
Connect with The Pollyanna Plan on Twitter


9 thoughts on “The Magical Power Of Writing Stuff Down

    1. I’m always so much happier after writing too, Michelle. I have never thought of it as a form of meditation before, but I love that idea and can totally see that it is. 🙂 Thanks for letting me know about the 750words site. I will check it out.

  1. I agree–writing out your thoughts is definitely helpful! Whenever my body is in “flare-up mode”, I just remind myself (out loud or through writing) that my body is detoxing and getting all the negative energy out. That way, I can reassure myself that I will feel a lot more improved. 🙂 xx

    1. That’s an excellent way to view flare-ups Jenn. I will have to remember that, although I’m hoping my next flare off is a loooong way off and maybe I won’t get one ever again! 😀 Hope you’re doing well. xx

  2. Yep, the healing stage can be a bit back-and-forth, but just remember that it was once mostly back and no forth, so you are definitely on the right track. After you get moved and things get settled, I suspect you will feel better in any case. The stress of the move may be triggering your ill health at the moment. Hang in there! ❤

  3. Writing stuff down really is magic.
    It’s the best therapy and never fails to make me feel better. So sorry to hear you’re in a flare at the moment. I hope it eases and leaves you free once more. As always I love your attitude, it’s so inspiring. Love the ‘go all Pollyanna’ approach 😊 Good luck with the house move. Xxx

    1. Thank you Jess! It’s so great to hear from you. 🙂 The house move went brilliantly and the flare up passed quickly. Yay! I hope you are going from strength to strength too. I must catch up on your posts. So happy to see you back blogging again. xxx

Leave a Reply

