Recovering Perfectionist In Progress – Day “I Have No Idea” Of The Pollyanna Plan 2

“I think perfectionism is based on the obsessive belief that if you run carefully enough, hitting each stepping-stone just right, you won’t have to die. The truth is that you will die anyway and that a lot of people who aren’t even looking at their feet are going to do a whole lot better than you, and have a lot more fun while they’re doing it.”
Anne Lamott

I have a confession to make and it pains me to say this…

…I have no idea which day I’m up to on my second year of The Pollyanna Plan!

This isn’t because I haven’t been finding my daily reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful. I really, honestly have – ask any of the members of The Pollyanna Plan 30 Day Challenge Group on Facebook. It’s just that I’ve been busily posting my reasons in the group and haven’t been keeping up with the journal I began writing when I started The Pollyanna Plan 2 on 22nd February 2014.

I feel bad about this – I really do – and to begin with, I was posting in the group and then dutifully writing up my posts in my journal each day. But then I’d forget for a few days and have to spend time trying to find all my posts again to copy them up, which quite honestly was time consuming and not all that much fun.

I’m guessing this sounds ridiculous to many of you, but I’m a recovering perfectionist and trying to make things perfect is what I do and have always done. I remember as a child, wanting to re-do my homework if my handwriting wasn’t perfect or if I’d made the tiniest of mistakes, and even to this day I get a tense, knotty feeling in my stomach if I don’t do something perfectly and give it my absolute best.

So, catching up and writing out my glad/happy/joyful reasons for the past two weeks in my journal has been looming over me and has been pretty high on my mental to do list.

But today I made the decision not to do it and to abandon my journal for now. I’m posting my happy, grateful reasons daily and more importantly I’m FEELING the FEELINGS of happiness, appreciation and gratitude. And perhaps, most significantly…wait, in fact, it’s my reason for today…

Day “I have no idea” of The Pollyanna Plan 2:

Today I am very happy and grateful that I am giving myself permission to not have to do everything perfectly.

And I tell you what, I actually feel a huge sense of relief. 🙂

recovering perfectionist

*The Pollyanna Plan 2 began on February 22nd 2014. I am writing down my reason to feel glad/happy/joyful every single day for the next 365 days and I’ll be sharing my favourite reasons here with you on my blog.* 

Join The Pollyanna Plan on Facebook
Follow The Pollyanna Plan on Twitter<a

©  Text and Photo – N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2014-  All Rights Reserved.


4 thoughts on “Recovering Perfectionist In Progress – Day “I Have No Idea” Of The Pollyanna Plan 2

  1. I love the quote by Anne Lamont, and I can so relate to the feelings of a recovering perfectionist (feebly raising my hand). I almost felt a sense of relief that I wasn’t the only one who decided to re-write my homework in grade school if it didn’t turn out neat enough. In fact, there was a point in time where I decided to type my homework instead 🙂

    The funny thing is that once you allow something to transpire with less than perfect results, you begin to realize that maybe, just maybe, the non-perfect result is perfect in its own way, if that makes any sense.

    And it does provide such an immense feeling of relief. Always remember that life does not have to be perfect in order to be wonderfull. 😉

    1. So true! Even though my act of letting go of perfectionism was seemingly small and insignificant, it actually feels like a weight has been lifted from me. In fact, I feel pretty good about it now and I’m looking forward to the next thing I’m not going to do perfectly. 🙂 Thank you so much for your comment. It’s good to know that I’m not the only recovering perfectionist out there. 🙂

  2. I used to be a perfectionist, until I realized that being one was kind of an imperfection. 🙂

    Maybe you should just take a screenshot of your daily posts, and save them in a folder! I used to just cut and paste my Facebook posts into a Word document. That worked too. 🙂

    1. Great idea – I hadn’t thought of that! But I think I’m going to stick with rebelling against my perfectionist nature and just not do it at all. I’m still posting on the group, so that’s good enough for now. Thanks for the suggestion though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

