Every Day In Life Is Beautiful

“Every day in life is beautiful – if we only look up from our reality”
 Alice Summers

It’s late morning and I am still sitting on the sofa in my pyjamas, as I have just watched a video on YouTube of an interview with Alice Summers, who at the time the video was filmed was the world’s oldest Holocaust survivor at the age of 108. She has since passed away at the age of 110, but that is hardly the point!

The reason I’m still in my pyjamas is that I have watched the video not once, but twice and now I find myself sitting here writing a blog post, as I feel so inspired and compelled to share it with you.

Alice Summers is my hero. Her incredible life sums up the astonishing power of optimism, gratitude, laughter and of always, ALWAYS looking for the good in life. She not only survived the holocaust, but is also a cancer survivor and puts her longevity down to her (quite frankly amazing) outlook on life.

When asked about what some of the greatest lessons of her life had been, Alice’s reply is “to be thankful”. Although I can’t compare my life to Alice’s in any way, shape or form, I can say that in my comparatively short time here, it is my greatest lesson too.

“Everything is a present” – Alice Summers

Make time to watch this video today – you’ll be grateful that you did! 🙂

Join The Pollyanna Plan on Facebook
Follow The Pollyanna Plan on Twitter

©  N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2014-  All Rights Reserved.


4 thoughts on “Every Day In Life Is Beautiful

  1. That was very cool. It makes me wonder about the biology of optimism, since she mentions that she was born optimistic, and her twin was not. I suspect that it really is easier for some people, due to their personalities or brain wiring. But it’s something everyone can work at anyway. 🙂

    1. I agree, I think some people are just born with a natural tendency for optimism, but it is definitely 100% something we can learn. And when we practise it enough it becomes a habit and, in turn, our default setting. I can say this with certainty, as it is something I have taught myself since I began this blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

