When Things Go Belly Up

You know when things don’t work out the way you planned, or even when they go spectacularly wrong? I’m working on a theory that what at first appears to be life throwing a spanner in the works, may actually be the Universe’s way of saying, “Hold on, wait a minute! I’ve got something even better lined up for you.” Well, that’s what I’m telling myself today anyway.

Not only have the nasty symptoms of this healing crisis returned with a vengeance, but something I’ve been relying on and thought had been planned out to perfection, fell apart today. I’ve been trying so hard not to feel bitterly disappointed and cross about it all, but I have to admit that I’ve been failing. And all attempts to stir up some Pollyanna-ish feelings have fizzled out.

crap

Image: http://www.rocknoaksranch.com

I’ve read a few posts recently that say how when these negative feelings bubble up, we need to accept them, surrender to them and wait for them to pass. If this works for you, then great! But I know that personally, it’s much easier for me to get back my happy, positive vibes if I search around for thoughts and feelings that feel better to the ones I am currently thinking and feeling.

So, I was in the process of coaxing myself out of this deep, dark, bad mood pit, when I remembered how sometimes in my life, when things didn’t go the way I had desperately hoped for at the time, it actually turned out to be the very best thing for me.

Years ago, before my health deteriorated, I had applied for a job that I thought I really, REALLY wanted. It was for a much higher position than my job at that time, with a considerably bigger salary and, best of all, it would mean that I could move back to Portugal to be nearer my family.

I went through the application process, then had a long, nerve-wracking phone interview, before finally being selected for a face-to-face interview, for which the company paid for my travel and I was able to sneak in a weekend visiting my friends and family.

I wanted that job so much and I still remember exactly where I was when I received the phone call to say that, although I had made it down to the final 2 candidates, they had decided to hire the other person, who had more experience. I remember hanging up the phone and bursting into floods of tears, feeling like all my hopes had been dashed.

But, looking back I can now see that the Universe was shouting at me, “Hold on, wait a minute! I’ve got something even better lined up for you!”

And it turned out that it really had, as a few months later I was sitting on a plane headed to Australia, with just a backpack full of belongings and a head full of dreams.

If I had got the job, I may never have fulfilled my dream of travelling around Australia. I’d never have seen all the incredible things I saw, had so many amazing experiences and met some really awesome people. And you know what the funny thing is? I now realise that I would have HATED that job. Yes, ok, it paid well, but I had no interest at all in the company (they made hearing aids!!) and would have been bored out of my mind pretty soon.

So, even though it didn’t feel like it at the time, not getting that job really was the very best thing that could have happened.

And that’s what I keep reminding myself today. Ok, so my plans have all gone belly up, but maybe there’s a very good reason for that and I’m going to trust that the Universe knows what is best for me and will bring it to me at exactly the right time. 🙂

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2014- All Rights Reserved.

Join The Pollyanna Plan on Facebook

Follow The Pollyanna Plan on Twitter


5 thoughts on “When Things Go Belly Up

  1. Yep, I like how Lola Jones says never take score unless it’s in your favor. Something good will come from it. Just think, if you hadn’t had health challenges there probably wouldn’t be a Pollyanna Plan.

  2. You, my friend, have courage and strength…but even more important? A sense of humor. That image of the turtle saying “Oh Crap”? PRICELESS. We ALL feel that way sometimes. It will turn around, flip right-side up again. I promise. Until then, keep positive and keep the humor!

    1. 🙂 Thank you for your kind words, Jen! The turtle picture made me laugh out loud when I found it online – although I think it may be a tortoise! Either way, I felt it was the perfect image for this post. 😉

Leave a Reply

