An Extraordinary Ordinary Life

IMG_0646

We’ve all heard the saying, “live everyday as if it were your last”, but how many of us really understand what it means, or actually take the time to do it?

Last night I watched the film, About Time – a film about love and time travel, but for me it was much more than this. For me it was a perfectly timed reminder about what a precious gift each and every day of our lives really is.

The other day, I fell into the trap of comparing my life to other people’s. I started to feel that, because I’ve had a chronic illness for so many years and haven’t been able to do much out in the big wide world, somehow my life paled in comparison. As if all the things I’ve achieved weren’t really worth very much. And believe me, it wasn’t a good feeling!

But, last night I was reminded that every second of my life is a blessing and that life is not so much about all the things you do, rather it’s more about how much you appreciate it and enjoy it for all it’s ordinariness.

I think it’s all too easy to go through our days stuck in a routine, focusing on rushing through to the end of the day, on getting stuff done and not pausing to notice the little wonders and miracles going on around us.

In the film, the main character, Tim, discovers on his 21st birthday that all the men in his family have the ability to travel back in time and can change what happens in their own lives.

Towards the end  – I won’t spoil it for you. Promise! – Tim’s Dad reveals his secret, two-part formula for happiness in which he lives each day twice over. The first time with all the normal stresses and strains of everyday life, not paying attention to how “sweet the world can be”. And the second time, really enjoying all the good parts.

Having the gift of time travel would be pretty useful, I grant you that, but there’s really nothing to stop us living each of our days as if we were experiencing them for the second time. It’s all a question of choosing where to put our focus.

I’ll leave you with this quote from the film, which I think sums it up perfectly:

“And in the end I think I’ve learned the final lesson from my travels in time…The truth is I now don’t travel back at all, not even for the day, I just try to live every day as if I’ve deliberately come back to this one day, to enjoy it, as if it was the full final day of my extraordinary, ordinary life.”
About Time

Join The Pollyanna Plan on Facebook

©  N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2014-  All Rights Reserved.


11 thoughts on “An Extraordinary Ordinary Life

  1. This is interesting, because I play a little game occasionally in which I pretend I’m an old, old lady who has just passed away, and I’m allowed to go back to a single day in my life, of my choosing. For whatever reason I choose the current day, and I try to live that day as though I was revisiting it.

    I notice how young I am, and that all of my loved ones are still alive to talk to, and how beautiful the world is. I find that the days that I play that game are ones I always remember, because I’m really paying attention. I suppose the goal is to live them all that way! 🙂

  2. What a beautiful and profound post Nina. I love the idea of living everyday as if it were for the second time. I sometimes think it would be nice to be able to go back to when my son was 1 or 2 yrs. old for a day, to be able to experience it all differently, with more appreciation and in a whole new consciousness. That’s great that we can choose to live life like that everyday, so that we won’t look back and wish we could do it over again. What a great reminder to live every day, every mundane chore with appreciation and delight. How quickly we could feel better and experience miracles and joy.
    I found this quote the other day and thought it would be appropriate here:

    Making the Ordinary come Alive

    “Do not ask your children to strive for extraordinary lives. Such striving may seem admirable but it is a way of foolishness. Help them instead to find the wonder and the marvel of an ordinary life. Show them the joy of tasting tomatoes, apples and pears. show them how to cry when pets and people die. Show them the infinite pleasure in the touch of a hand. and make the ordinary come alive for them. The extraordinary will take care of itself.”

    I’m happy you’re continuing another 365 days of the Pollyanna Plan; looking forward to another year of things to be happy, glad and grateful for, it’s such an uplift for me.
    Keep up the good work.

    1. Thank you for the sharing such a beautiful quote – I love it and it’s perfect for this post! 🙂

      Also thank you as always for your lovely words. 🙂 I’ve been meaning to ask you whether you write a blog? You write so beautifully that I’d love to read some of your work.

      Love and hugs,

      Nina x

      1. Awww, thank you; no I don’t write a blog, but my husband, son and I do publish a little newsletter where I contribute an article that focuses on personal expansion and joy. I’m in the process of building my website and intend on starting a blog, so stay tuned.

        Love and Grace,
        Nina

Leave a Reply

