Touching The Wall – Day 364 of The Pollyanna Plan

Whenever I have enough energy, there’s a short walk I like to do in the late afternoon with my two dogs. We set off down the very steep hill from our house and when we reach the bottom, we cross a little bridge and walk along a path next to the river.

At the end of the path is a stone wall, part of a ruin joined onto an old, deep well, and the ritual of this walk is to touch the wall before turning back and heading home again – Shep usually pees on it and I settle for touching it with my hand. 🙂

In total, it’s a 15-20 minute walk  through the countryside and includes an exceedingly steep climb back up to our house on the hill, so I always think of it as being a good amount of daily exercise for me – a gentle walk, followed by some cardio at the end!

There were many years when I would struggle to do this walk at all. My Mum would have to accompany me and hold me up as I shuffled one foot in front of the other. Each step was completely exhausting. Often I’d have to sit down on a rock as soon as I’d crossed the bridge, before admitting defeat and turning for home, wondering how on earth I’d get back up the hill – in stages with lots of breaks to sit down was the answer.

Little by little, this walk has become so much easier for me. In fact, there are loads of days now when I can walk a lot further, taking different routes through the beautiful countryside near our home. However, over these past few days I’ve been feeling very drained and exhausted again, so the couple of times I’ve attempted this walk, with my Mum coming along for moral support, has been somewhat of a struggle.

But, this afternoon, I did it! I easily walked to the end of the path, touched the wall (with my hand), smiled a huge smile, shouted “Yipppee!” and walked back home again.

Day 364, Reason 364: Today I am so very happy and grateful to have touched the wall on my walk and to be feeling the return of my energy, just in the nick of time to finish off The Pollyanna Plan challenge in style!  Hoorah! 🙂

IMG_0679That’s the wall!

Only 1 Day left of The Pollyanna Plan! I’ve oh so nearly done it.

One WHOLE YEAR, One DAILY reason to feel glad/happy/joyful, accompanied by a blog post EVERY SINGLE DAY!

If you have enjoyed reading my blog and following me on my journey, now is the perfect time to sponsor me by making a small donation to my chosen charity,
Save the Children. THANK YOU!

Each year 8 million children never reach their 5th birthday. Most die from easily preventable diseases like diarrhoea, malaria and pneumonia – especially if they are already weak and undernourished.

Save the Children works in 120 countries around the world helping to ensure more children live to celebrate their 5th birthday and beyond, wherever they are.

To make a donation to The Pollyanna Plan sponsored challenge using your chosen currency, please click on the link below, which will take you to my Just Giving page.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

100% of all donations goes directly to Save the Children. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

1 DAY to go of The Pollyanna Plan

1 REASON to feel glad/happy/joyful to find 

Why not join me on my new Facebook Page?
I’d love to see you there! 😀

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2014-  All Rights Reserved.


9 thoughts on “Touching The Wall – Day 364 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. That’s so great that you’ve almost reached the 1 year marker of “the Pollyanna Plan”–that’s definitely a big accomplishment! 🙂 Do you plan on still blogging afterwards?

    1. Thank you, Jenn! I’ve just finished The Pollyanna Plan challenge today! Woohooo!!! I’m definitely going to continue blogging. I hope to have lots of progress reports and happy events to share with you all. As well as keeping you up to date with any things I learn along the way. 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

