Appreciating The Contrast – Day 338 of The Pollyanna Plan

I am now onto day 5 of not enough sleep – urghh!- but this current bout of insomnia has got me thinking about contrast.

You see there’s all this stuff in life that we don’t want to experience (not sleeping well being one of them), but if we lived in a world where everything was wonderful and perfect all the time, how would we really appreciate any of it?

I’ve heard it explained this way – Imagine life as a big buffet which only served your very favourite foods. To start with, this idea sounds great doesn’t it? But, imagine that is all you ever get to eat, day in and day out for your entire life. I think I’d probably get fed up and would stop appreciating all the things I love to eat pretty quickly.

So, that’s where contrast comes in. Contrast is a buffet serving all the foods you can think of, including the ones you really, really hate and don’t want to eat at all! When you get a plateful of the yucky food there’s no doubt that it’s horrible, but it makes the food you love so much better when you finally get to taste it again.

And that is why today I am appreciating the contrast. I appreciate the exhaustion and inability to think straight, as I know that once I get a good night’s sleep and my energy returns, I’m going to feel so very happy and grateful.

Likewise with the weather today. This morning I awoke to beautiful bright sunshine, but by lunch time a mackerel sky had appeared. And as the saying goes, “Mackerel sky, not twenty-four hours dry” – just looked that up on Google! 😉

But, I’m coming round to the idea that the stormy weather in life, only makes the clear blue skies that much brighter!

IMG_1376

Image copyright: https://thepollyannaplan.wordpress.com

Day 338, Reason 338: Today I am extremely grateful to be learning to appreciate the contrast in life. 

If you have enjoyed reading my posts and following me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, maybe you would be kind enough to sponsor me for a small amount of money.

Just £1.25 buys 5 bottles of Fansidar syrup for the treatment of 5 children with malaria.

100% of all donations goes directly to Save the Children.

You can donate using your chosen currency through my Just Giving page. Please click on the tab below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

 Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

ONLY 27 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

AND ONLY 27 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find 🙂


7 thoughts on “Appreciating The Contrast – Day 338 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Poor thing. I know how much insomnia can suck, and it can be a self-fulfilling cycle. You start worrying about not be able to sleep, and that makes you not be able to sleep.

    Try sitting quietly and rolling your eyes upward a little after you close them. Just pay attention to your breathing, and this may help you to quiet your mind down. Doing some gentle stretching before going to sleep can help too.

    I hope you feel better soon, and in the meantime, good on you for enjoying the contrast! I know what you mean about that too. 🙂

  2. I really enjoyed reading this and the concept of which you write about, contrast. It really makes since. Thanks so much for sharing.
    I know all too well about insomnia, myself. It’s awful. I go from insomnia to sleep, sleep, sleep. I’d really like to just be able to lay down and sleep 7 or 8 hours a night just like everyone else. I am ever so grateful, once I do get to sleep, though.
    I hope you get some sleep soon, as I know it can be maddening if it goes on for too long. I wish I could give you some ideas on what to do, but I obviously have no clue, myself. Hang in there.
    Take care and I wish you the best New Year, ever!:)

    1. Thank you very much! 🙂 I had a much better night last night (yoga stretches, breathing exercises, Epsom Salts bath and EFT helped!)

      Wishing you lots of joy, love, happy times and good sleep for 2014. 🙂 x

      1. Glad to hear you had a much better night and hopefully, today will continue to be better.
        I did my breathing exercises last night, as well. I find it very helpful when I’m not able to meditate. I did buy a yoga set a little over a month ago I found a great deal with the matt, DVD, big ball, weights and the stretch bands. Can’t remember the exact price, but it was all under $20.00, I want to say something ridiculous like 12.99. It was so cheap and I really didn’t have the money, but it was too good of a deal to pass up. I plan on trying to get into doing that at the beginning of the year. A few more days to get geared up for it. I’m in a lot of pain and have gone to yoga classes in the past and was unable to do it with the fibro and all the other chronic illnesses, but I figured in the privacy of my own home, I can take it as slow as needed to work up to a good pace to be beneficial for me, as yoga is supposed to be really great for fibro patients. We shall see. I’m hoping. I’ve yet to try the epsom salts because out bathtub is so puny and uncomfortable, but that is also on my list of things to go ahead and try, anyway. I hear it really helps for some and I hear others say, not so much. Not sure what EFT is?
        Hoping you can get off the insomnia train, for a bit. It’s maddening, I know. I’ve been having the same problem the past several nights. It comes and goes all the time. And, when I don’t sleep at night, I still cannot sleep during the day.
        Wishing you the best New Year, EVER!
        Peace, love, and hugs,
        Tammy:)

      2. Hi Tammy!

        EFT is Emotional Freedom Technique, also known as tapping – I wrote a blog post about it here:

        https://thepollyannaplan.wordpress.com/2013/06/16/tapping-into-fate-day-143-of-the-pollyanna-plan/

        I’ve found several videos on YouTube to follow along with that have been really helpful. I particularly like Brad Yates’ videos – you can find him through a YouTube search.

        Also, the yoga I do is for complete beginners and is very gentle. This is the video I use:

        Hope this helps!

        Love and hugs,

        Nina. xx

Leave a Reply

