Grain Free Christmas Pudding, Fa La La La La La La La Laaa! – Day 330 of The Pollyanna Plan

It’s official – my Mum is a genius!  Today she made a grain free, spice free, alcohol free, everything-else-I’m-intolerant-to free Christmas pudding as an experiment.

And, not only did the experiment work, but it tasted delicious and just like a REAL Christmas pudding.

I’m so happy, as I thought I was going to have to miss out on all the yummy Christmassy food this year, due to the mountain of (we’re talking Everest sized) food intolerances I have nowadays.

Remember the post I wrote a while back about how thankful I was that I could still eat quinoa, seeing as I’m intolerant to every other grain and cereal known to man? Well, it seems that I spoke too soon, as once I started keeping a food and symptoms journal, I realised that every time I ate quinoa, I’d get a huge energy slump and feel rotten. So, now my cherished quinoa is out of my diet too, meaning that I also can’t use quinoa flour for baking.

Therefore, no mince pies, no Christmas cake, nor any chocolates or sweets of any kind. But no matter, because I now have Christmas pudding! Fa la la la la, la la la laaa!! 😀

So, these are the ingredients:

It has a base of ground whole almonds – we buy these in the local market and grind them in the coffee grinder. Then just chuck everything else in:

Currants
Sultanas
Chopped apple
Lemon zest
Orange zest
Fresh lemon juice
Fresh orange juice
Honey
Water
(And you can add anything else you’re not intolerant to!)

Next, the pudding was steamed over night in an earthenware dish inside the crock pot, snugly covered with aluminium foil.

And just like magic, when we opened the lid this morning, there is was … looking the right colour and consistency and tasting just like Christmas! Hoorah!

By the time I thought to take a photo to show you, I’d eaten a couple of big helpings – sorry but it was just too good. So here’s a  pic of  a gluten free Christmas pudding instead:gluten-free-xmas-pud_500325_A1

Day 330, Reason 330: Today I am so happy and extremely grateful that I have a some real Christmas food that I’m able to eat. Woohoo!

…Although I think I’ll have finished this one by Christmas Day, so I shall make myself another one! 😉

If you have enjoyed reading my posts and following me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, maybe you would be kind enough to sponsor me for a small amount of money.

100% of all donations goes directly to Save the Children.

Save the Children works in 120 countries around the world, saving children’s lives, fighting for their rights and helping them to fulfil their potential.

You can donate using your chosen currency through my Just Giving page. Please click on the tab below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

 Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

35 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

35 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find….not long now!! 🙂


6 thoughts on “Grain Free Christmas Pudding, Fa La La La La La La La Laaa! – Day 330 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. That’s super cool! Sadly I don’t even know what Christmas pudding is, so I guess I won’t be missing it if I don’t have any. 😛

    I wish I knew how to teach you the weird mind tricks I’ve been doing lately, because it’s allowed me to eat a lot more foods than I used to, without nearly as many unpleasant side effects. I’ve managed to gain back about 10 pounds, too, which is great. 🙂

Leave a Reply

