Lifting The Veil – Day 321 of The Pollyanna Plan

When I began The Pollyanna Plan, 321 days ago, I chose to write my blog anonymously, as I felt it gave me the freedom to write my posts as authentically and as honestly as possible.

I guess what it boils down to is that I didn’t feel confident enough to write something so personal under my real name. In fact, the only people that know I write this blog are my Mum and my best friend, as I was worried that by telling others I would leave myself open to being judged, criticised or ridiculed in some way.

I know it may seem like I’m making a big deal about this, after all people write blogs that are much more inflammatory than my small offering, but over the past few years of chronic illness my self confidence has very much been eroded away.  And besides, being a “Pollyanna” and choosing to always look on the bright side is often seen as a negative thing by many people. Go figure!

However, as The Pollyanna Plan has progressed, I’ve been feeling myself grow, not only in confidence and courage, but also in my sense of who I am. And perhaps more importantly, I have fallen in love with this magical, powerful new habit of gratitude, happiness and positivity, which I have created for myself and I want to be able to share it with as many people as possible.

And even though I am typing this post with slightly sweaty palms and feeling butterflies doing loop-the-loops in my stomach, I have now reached a point where I can say that I’m not sacrificing my happy, positive vibes for anyone. And if people don’t like me for my Pollyanna-ish attitude then that’s ok, because I’m the happiest I’ve ever been and I feel very empowered by that.

So, today is a momentous day, not only for The Pollyanna Plan, but also for me as a person. For today, I have begun to spread the word of my blog to people who know me personally. It’s just a small start for now –  I included a link to my blog in a few Christmas cards I posted today – but I’m hoping that this is just the beginning.

AND, while I’m on a roll, I’d like to introduce myself properly to you all – my blogging friends who have supported me through this journey.

You may have guessed that Pollyanna is not my real name! My name is Nina – *waving a big, confident hello to you all.*

Oh and this is a photo taken of me on my 34th birthday in July this year, in Portugal where I live. There, I did it! It wasn’t so scary after all!! 😀

Me

Image copyright: http://www.thepollyannaplan.wordpress.com

Day 321, Reason 321: Today I am so happy, grateful and excited to at last have the confidence and courage to lift the veil and reveal who I really am. 😀

If you have enjoyed reading my posts and following me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, maybe you would be kind enough to sponsor me for a small amount of money.

100% of all donations goes directly to Save the Children.

Save the Children works in 120 countries around the world, saving children’s lives, fighting for their rights and helping them to fulfil their potential.

You can donate using your chosen currency through my Just Giving page. Please click on the tab below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

 Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

44 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

44 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find….not long now!! 🙂


27 thoughts on “Lifting The Veil – Day 321 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Yeah! I’m glad you decided to share your identity. I understand why you might have felt hesitant to share who you are. I did myself when I started my blog, but I didn’t think anyone I knew would see it. Little did I know I had linked it to my Facebook page and some of my friends and family were reading it. I don’t share my spiritual beliefs with everyone so I wasn’t sure how people would react, but it made me get over worrying about what others think and most people have been supportive.

    I have always loved the Pollyanna Plan and it’s nice to have a name and face to put with it, Blessings to you, Nina!

    1. Thank you so much, Michelle! Your story about not knowing you’d linked your blog to your Facebook page made me giggle. So glad that your friends and family have been supportive. I’m a big fan of your blog!
      And like you say, sharing my identity has helped me get over worrying what others think. A big hurdle for me! 🙂

  2. Yaay, good for you! I knew you would work up to it eventually.

    I’m still surprised that you look so much like how I had been picturing you anyway. Personally I thought you looked like a Jessica, but Nina is lovely too! I’ll take it! 🙂

  3. Yay! I’m so happy for you Nina! That’s huge! I’m so glad to share the same name with you! You’re my hero! I’ve grown a lot too, from reading your experiences. You should be the poster girl for what being happy and living in gratitude looks like, and how it can change your life and how you feel.
    You’re beautiful inside and out! I’m so glad you’ve lifted the veil to shine your light even more, even though you you’ve shined like a beacon with your blog.

    Way to go! I know your upcoming book will be a huge success!

    Big love and hugs,

    Nina 🙂

    1. Oh wow! Thank you so very much for everything you’ve said. I feel so overwhelmed by your comments, I don’t quite know how to respond, other than to say thank you a million times over!
      Having your support and encouragement throughout my journey has been immeasurable. And I’ve been dying to let you know that I’m also called Nina! 🙂 How cool is that? I think there’s another Nina who follows my blog too – amazing seeing as I’ve only ever met a couple of people called Nina in my whole life! 😀
      Love and hugs to you,

      Nina. 😀 xxx

    1. Thank you very much and thank you for following my blog. It means a great deal to me! When I started The Pollyanna Plan, I never imagined anybody would read my blog, let alone follow it. I still have to pinch myself! 🙂

  4. Hi Nina! 🙂 Yes, sometimes it is scary to reveal yourself online, but it definitely shows through your writing that your confidence has strengthened (which is awesome). You look young for being 34 (if you didn’t say your age, I would have thought from your picture that you were in your 20’s 😉 ). Yay for the “Pollyanna” approach to life! 😀

  5. Hi Nina, I’m so glad you’re “out of the closet” 🙂 I have truly enjoyed growing along with you since I began reading your blog. I hope this means the
    ” Pollyanna Plan will not totally disappear
    After the end of the year” …. I’m sorry, the best verse at short notice.
    But now I’m to bed
    To soothe my sore head…… good to have you here with us.
    Susan x

Leave a Reply

