A Well Spent Sunday – Day 297 of The Pollyanna Plan

“A Sunday well spent brings a week of content” – Proverb

I look back fondly on the days when weekends were magical. During my school years, I used to long for the freedom of the weekend and when I entered the world of work, I’d delight in having those two whole days all to myself.

But, since I became too ill to work, weekends have lost their sparkle. In fact, they are just the same as every other day of the week. Except for today – as today, I really feel as if I’ve had a “proper” Sunday. 🙂

You see, over the past week, I’ve been busy working on a commission, as well as preparing for, and attending, my online classes. So, it was with great joy that I woke up this morning and realised that there was nothing I needed to do that couldn’t wait for another day

I chose to make the very most of it and started my morning with a little pampering. And what better way to begin than with a homemade (chemical free) hair and scalp treatment mask.

I softened a genorous teaspoon of coconut oil with a little hot water, added a tablespoon of freshly squeezed lemon juice and 2 drops of tea tree oil. I then applied it to my scalp with a cotton wool ball, massaged it in and left it to do it’s thing for 20 mins, before washing it out. My hair and scalp really appreciated the tlc!

Whilst I was waiting for the treatment to work, I sat outside, soaked up some sunshine and admired the garden, which is flourishing with all the warm weather we’ve been having.

IMG_1195

Oh and I’ve been experimenting with my camera again!

After lunch, I had a lovely, lazy  Sunday afternoon nap, before some friends of my Mum’s came over for tea, followed by a short and rather chilly walk with the dogs at sunset.

Now, I’m settled on the sofa in front of the wood burning stove and thinking about changing into my pj’s, even though it’s only 7pm – surely that’s allowed at the weekend?!

Day 297, Reason 297: Today I am delighted and so very grateful to have had a well spent, proper weekend-feeling Sunday! 🙂 Yippee!

68 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

68 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

In the devastating wake of Typhoon Haiyan, Save the Children has mobilised teams and supplies to quickly respond to the needs of vulnerable children and families in the Philippines. It’s feared up to 10,000 people may have died. Hundreds of thousands have lost their homes.

577496_10153480960960191_597626969_n

By sponsoring me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, you will be making a donation to Save the Children to help those affected by Typhhon Haiyan.

Even a small donation can do so much.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

You can donate using your chosen currency  through my Just Giving page (please click on the tab above.)

ALL donations go directly to Save the Children.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


5 thoughts on “A Well Spent Sunday – Day 297 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Great post – you earned it, in fact you don’t need to earn it, pamper yourself whenever you can. It should be in the manual somewhere. What manual I hear you ask – the unwritten one that says we can do what we like – 🙂 Glad you had a great day.Susan x

Leave a Reply

