Learning The Art of Acceptance – 289 of The Pollyanna Plan

This morning I woke up feeling a little rough around the edges. I hadn’t slept much and it feels like I’m coming down with something.

After such a great day yesterday, I could have slipped back into my old habit of feeling despondent and disappointed about this little setback, but instead I have chosen acceptance.

I don’t think I’ve ever truly understood the concept of acceptance before, and I’ve certainly never experienced the benefits. It’s amazing how the magic words “that’s ok,” have given me a completely new and improved perspective on things.

Throughout the day, whenever I’ve become aware of unhelpful thoughts, such as “I hope I’m not going to get really ill with this,” I’ve been saying to myself, in a calm, caring tone, “I don’t feel very well today and that’s ok.”

Little by little, with every “that’s ok,” I’ve been coaxing myself back to my good feeling place. And I tell you what, it really feels like I’ve taken the pressure off myself.

So I’m not feeling the best, but that’s ok, in fact it’s absolutely fine. I can relax in the knowledge that my body knows exactly what to do to get itself back to health and wellness. And what a fantastic feeling that is!

Day 289, Reason 289: Today I am so happy and grateful that I’m learning the art of acceptance.

Oh and just to finish, I walked past the window in our living room earlier and caught sight or a beautiful sunset.

IMG_1171Sunset with a glimpse of the moon
Image: copyright https://thepollyannaplan.wordpress.com

Clouds in the sky make for the best sunsets, don’t you think? And it has just occurred to me that this is a pretty good metaphor for life.

76 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

76 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

If you would like to sponsor me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, by making a donation to Save the Children, I would be extremely grateful. 

Just £3.00 pays for enough antibiotics to save 10 babies from pneumonia.

Even a small donation can do so much.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

You can donate using your chosen currency  through my Just Giving page (please click on the tab above.)

ALL donations go directly to Save the Children.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


12 thoughts on “Learning The Art of Acceptance – 289 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. I’ve been dealing with the same thing too. I did a lot yesterday and now I’m not feeling well today. However, it’s okay if I’m not feeling well right now because I always know that the pain and fatigue do lessen after resting. I’ve been practicing the art of acceptance too and I think I’ve been doing pretty good at it. Great post and I love your sunset pic! 🙂

Leave a Reply

