Let Me Disappoint You – Day 269 of The Pollyanna Plan

“If you want to live a meaningful life that makes a difference in the lives of others, you need to make a difference in your own life first. That way your motivation is pure.”
Cheryl Richardson

Today I had another lightbulb moment after listening to yet another fantastic interview on The Best of Hay House World Summit, this time with Cheryl Richardson.

Cheryl was talking about a chapter in her book, The Art of Extreme Self Care, entitled Let Me Disappoint You.  She was saying how she discovered that the reason she hates to disappoint or upset people is because she herself hates feeling disappointed and upset.

When I heard these words, it suddenly all fell into place for me. You see, I am (and have always been) a highly sensitive person, so I am super sensitive to other people’s feelings and emotions and have spent my whole life trying to please others and not cause them any upset.

I’ve had my fair share of disappointments and upsets myself, so in a way I guess I’ve been trying to protect others from emotional pain. This is BIG for me – I’m talking, HUGE – as I have a lot of anxiety and fear around upsetting  people and I never really understood why.

Over the years I have learnt to say “no” to things I don’t want to do (believe me it’s taken me long enough to get to this point), but I then fret and worry for days about whether someone is upset with me or whether I have let them down. This in itself is exhausting!

So, following Cheryl’s advice, I’m going to start practising disappointing people and being ok with it!! Not by being mean or malicious in any way, but just by saying no and setting boundaries. (Even typing this fills me with anxiety and I’m thinking to myself, “I hope my blog followers don’t think I’m a nasty, horrible person”, but that just proves exactly why I need to do this little exercise.) I’m also going to use EFT (tapping) to help me release and let go of these fears and worries.

And although this all feels quite uncomfortable at the moment, it’s as if somebody has suddenly turned the lights on in a darkened room and I know that I’ve just taken another MASSIVE step forward on my healing journey.

IMG_0714

Image copyright: https://thepollyannaplan.wordpress.com
Photo taken on my beach walk this morning with my phone! 🙂

Day 269, Reason 269: Today I am so very grateful for being shown the next step to take on my journey towards a life I truly love. Big thanks to Cheryl Richardson and Hay House for the inspiration!

96 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

96 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

If you would like to sponsor me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, by making a donation to Save the Children, I would be extremely grateful. 

Just £3.00 pays for enough antibiotics to save 10 babies from pneumonia.

Even a small donation can do so much.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

You can donate using your chosen currency  through my Just Giving page (please click on the tab above.)

ALL donations go directly to Save the Children.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


16 thoughts on “Let Me Disappoint You – Day 269 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. You’re not a nasty and horrible person at all! Don’t you dare think that! I totally relate to everything you say in this post, I am exactly the same. Reading your post has really shone a light on that trait for me so thank you!

  2. This is great! Just having the awareness of this is going to help it start moving. It’s just an old vibrational habit that can quickly move up in frequency and when it does, you no longer react the same way when you say no. It’s all about soothing yourself about it and not making it wrong.

    I love how the Universe shows us our blind spots and gives us what we need to help us through it!

    The Universe recently showed me a vibrational habit I had and just being aware of it and letting it be okay, was enough to dissolve it. I’ve always cared what people thought of me and how I looked to others, but after this situation and being aware of this,I no longer care what others think of me. I feel liberated! Now when I think about this particular situation, it doesn’t have the same charge it had before; it’s really a non-issue now.

    Here’s to your expansion!

    Hugs,
    Nina

    1. Thank you so much for your extremely helpful and encouraging words.

      I too have a vibrational habit of caring and worrying about what people think of me – that’s the next one to crack! It’s brilliant that you have been able to dissolve it so effectively! It gives me great hope that I will be able to do the same.

      If you have any more tips or advice, please let me know! 🙂

      Big hugs.

  3. Well, learning to say no is a great thing, although I don’t know that I would think of it as disappointing people, because that adds such a value judgment to it. I don’t necessarily feel disappointed if someone says no to me, I just figure they couldn’t do whatever it was for their own reasons. So maybe it’s just giving yourself first priority, or not feeling responsible for other people’s feelings, as long as your intentions were good. Which I’m sure they always are. 🙂

    1. 🙂 I think “not feeling responsible for other people’s feelings” sums it up perfectly. Although, the disappointing people part comes from me believing that’s what I’m doing, even though logically I know that most of the time people aren’t going to be disappointed by me saying no to things.

Leave a Reply

