Follow Your Heart – Day 266 of The Pollyanna Plan

I’ve had an epiphany! It began to dawn on me a few days ago, after listening to an interview with Anita Moorjani and has now bloomed into a fully formed revelation.

I realised that for the majority of my life I haven’t been following my heart – or some might call it my Spirit. Instead, I’ve been doing things I think I “should” do, out of a feeling of obligation or out of  fear of upsetting others. In fact, I’d become so used to this, that I didn’t even notice that anything was amiss.

Until now…

Today it hit me that the craft work I do and the handmade items I make, just really aren’t me!

Yes, I’m good at what I do (or so others tell me) but I’m not passionate about it. I enjoy being creative, but I don’t feel inspired. In fact, the items I make are so out of alignment with who I really am, they aren’t even things I’d ever wear or use – not because I don’t like them, but because they just don’t make my heart sing.

You see, I sort of fell into my craft quite by accident. A few years ago when my health was at it’s lowest point, my Mum’s friend very generously gave me some kit (as she could no longer use it) to give me something to do on the days I felt well enough to get out of bed. And what started as a hobby to keep my focus off my illness, slowly grew into my small online shop.

However, there is a different type of craft work I’ve come across lately that I absolutely LOVE. But, I hadn’t allowed myself to even consider the possibility of giving it a go, as I have all this other kit, materials etc that I thought I “should” use and I thought I “should” keep going with the work I already do.

Then today inspiration hit: Why don’t I follow my heart and start making things I truly love?  Do you remember the post I wrote back in May on Day 105 of The Pollyanna Plan? Well this is a development of the idea I had then, to make things that fill me with inspiration, joy and happiness. It was so simple and blindingly obvious, but I just couldn’t see it before, or rather I hadn’t been been paying attention to what my heart was trying to tell me.

I could beat myself up about why it’s taken me so long to realise all of this, but what would be the point in that? Instead, I choose to feel very grateful for everything I’ve learnt from what I’ve been doing up until now and I’m soooo excited, inspired and eager to begin on a new path.

Day 266, Reason 266: Today I am so full of joy and gratitude to be following my heart.

follow-your-heart-print

Image source: http://www.ameetdubey.com

99 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

99 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

If you would like to sponsor me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, by making a donation to Save the Children, I would be extremely grateful. 

Just £3.00 pays for enough antibiotics to save 10 babies from pneumonia.

Even a small donation can do so much.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

You can donate using your chosen currency  through my Just Giving page (please click on the tab above.)

ALL donations go directly to Save the Children.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


12 thoughts on “Follow Your Heart – Day 266 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Yes, I do think it’s important to figure out what really excites you and follow that path if possible. Life’s too short to do things you only kinda like. Good on you that you even know what you do enjoy, though, since many people never even figure that out! Go for it! 🙂

  2. What a wonderful realization! Anita’s story had a similar effect on me. NDE stories are so amazing in that they remind us that God’s story is truth and that it’s ALL good after this life. And in the meantime, the point of this life is to experience joy (and praise Him).
    I’m so happy for your new path! 🙂

  3. Would love to find out what it is… good for you – especially at not beating yourself up for not realising it sooner… things happen at certain points for a reason – it has taken me over a decade to realise what I should be doing and then it still took 9 months of writing and blogging before I had my epiphany! In just 4 weeks of realising my heart path I have found incredible people and successes and opportunities.
    Once you tune in to what you love – life will be abundant!
    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

