A Mammoth Walk – Day 264 of The Pollyanna Plan

If you’re expecting this post to be about mammoths, you may be a little disappointed, but read on as  it’s a miraculous tale nonetheless.

Today for the first time since the start of The Pollyanna Plan, I went for a 45 minute walk on my own – well not strictly true, as my 2 dogs came along as well, but what I mean is without the support of my Mum. Let me just say that again, as if feels so blooming good, I walked for 45 minutes today completely on my own! Yiiippppeeeee!!!

When I asked myself this morning, “what can I do today that will bring me joy?” my instinct told me – go for a walk. The sun was shining, the birds were singing and I just wanted to be outdoors, surrounded by nature, fresh air and all things lovely! 🙂

So, off we went – my 2 dogs and I – with a spring in our steps, enjoying living in the moment, paying attention to the sights and sounds around us, spotting all sorts of birds, butterflies, dragon flies, plants and trees.

For the first 15 minutes, Bojangles was beside himself with excitement, even though both he and Jude had already been out for an early morning walk with my Mum. He kept running in circles around me, skidding to a stop by my feet and licking me on the hand. He made me laugh out loud as I’m pretty sure he was celebrating this huge improvement in my health with me! 😉

On the way home, Jude was getting a little hot (I would have been too, if I were wearing a black fur coat) so she scampered down to the river to cool off. I love watching her wade through the water – she doesn’t like to swim, but rather prefers to wallow about like a hippo.

IMG_0694

Jude wading through the river – Image copyright https://thepollyannaplan.wordpress.com

Bojangles and I chose to watch from the river bank – it looked far too muddy for our liking.

IMG_0692

Bojangles – Image copyright https://thepollyannaplan.wordpress.com

Day 264, Reason 264: Today I am over the moon and so very grateful to have had the energy for a mammoth walk.

101 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

101 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

If you would like to sponsor me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, by making a donation to Save the Children, I would be extremely grateful. 

Just £3.00 pays for enough antibiotics to save 10 babies from pneumonia.

Even a small donation can do so much.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

You can donate using your chosen currency  through my Just Giving page (please click on the tab above.)

ALL donations go directly to Save the Children.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


13 thoughts on “A Mammoth Walk – Day 264 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Congratulations on your big accomplishment! For sure your dogs enjoyed the long walk just as much as you did. 🙂

  2. Wow, that’s awesome! I AM kind of sad that there were no prehistoric creatures involved, though. I’m going to have to insist that your dog dig up an Iguanodon next time or something. Truth in advertising, you know. ;P

    1. Hehehe! My dogs would be so up for that! I found a fossilised shell at the beach today, which I brought home. I’ll show you when you come and visit! 🙂 It’s prehistoric for sure….well, maybe! 😉

  3. I have been busy offline with goals & dreams and since I got back online (late last week) I was looking forward to popping in on your blog for a catch up – I am reading it backwards, but obviously haven’t been in to read for a while and I have to say there is so much progress in your health and physical abilities…. well done, embrace it!

Leave a Reply

