Learning to Love Myself – Day 261 of The Pollyanna Plan

I’m on the mend! 🙂

My neck and shoulder pain is gradually subsiding and today I managed a short trip to the local produce market AND a gentle walk with my mum and the dogs this afternoon. I’m still not able to use the computer and type my posts yet, but I’m hugely grateful for the progress I have made. Yippee!

This morning I listened to an interview with Louise Hay as part of the Hay House World Summit free seminar. One of the tips Louise gives is to start your day by looking at yourself in the mirror and telling yourself the following, “Pollyanna I love you, I really, really love you,” (obviously using your own name!)

When I first heard this I thought that it didn’t really apply to me, as I’m pretty sure I do have a healthy love for myself – I certainly don’t hate myself in any way. But, the more I thought about it, the more I realised that I do need to include this exercise into my daily routine.

You see, I tend to beat myself up and get really annoyed with myself for making mistakes or not being perfect, and this certainly isn’t conducive to loving myself.

So today I have been spending more time in front of the mirror than I’m accustomed to, learning to feel comfortable saying “I love you” to myself.” The fact that I don’t feel comfortable doing this is a big indication that I need to practise, practise, practise.

I’ve also been using the affirmation, “I love and approve of myself” throughout the day, whenever I notice I’m dwelling on a negative thought.

I’ve found both these little exercises very comforting and I intend to incorporate them into My Wellness Action Plan.

Day 261, Reason 261: Today I am so happy and grateful that I am learning to truly love myself.

4BD72811-8A73-4EDE-BC56-28588ACFECF2
104 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

104 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

If you would like to sponsor me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, by making a donation to Save the Children, I would be extremely grateful. 

Just £3.00 pays for enough antibiotics to save 10 babies from pneumonia.

Even a small donation can do so much.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

You can donate using your chosen currency  through my Just Giving page (please click on the tab above.)

ALL donations go directly to Save the Children.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


Leave a Reply

