Snacking The Grain Free Way – Day 242 of The Pollyanna Plan

The good news from last night’s sleepover is that my little niece slept the whole night through and was up bright and early this morning ready for my Mum to take her to school.

The not so great news is that I didn’t sleep so well (understatement) and so have dragged myself through today feeling much like a zombie, or other such lifeless creature. On top of this, I also have a host of allergy type symptoms – bet even zombies don’t get those!

When I’m exhausted like this and the weather has turned dark and dreary, all I want to do is snack. But having to live with such a restricted diet due to food intolerances- no grains, cereals, eggs, dairy, plus countless other foods – snacking is quite a challenge.

I’m normally fine about missing out on all the yummy foods others take for granted, but on days like this I just want to  stick out my bottom lip and put my best sad face on, cos it just aint fair! Boohoo!

Ok, that’s quite enough of feeling sorry for myself.

Sensing my obvious less than joyful mood, my lovely Mum set about experimenting and this afternoon she made me a flat bread from quinoa flour. It really was very tasty, especially with some honey drizzled on top. Thank you so much Mum! Happy face restored! 🙂

Feeling inspired, but unable to move from the sofa, I have spent the past hour scouring blog posts for grain free, dairy free and egg free recipes and I came across loads of fantastic blogs with some great ideas for snacks. Yey! I’m yet to find a recipe that doesn’t contain something I’m intolerant to, but they are all easily adaptable. Double Yey!

So my second thank you of the day goes to all you kind people who take the time to share your recipes with the rest of us.

Day 242, Reason 242: Today I am very happy and extremely grateful to all the people who go out of the way to invent grain free/dairy free/egg free snacks! 🙂

20120901-190104Image from http://almondsandavocados.com/quinoa-flatbread
This blog has a great quinoa flatbread recipe, which I helpfully found AFTER my Mum had already made up her own recipe! 🙂

September Juicing Challenge – Carrot juice today.

123 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

123 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

If you would like to sponsor me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, by making a donation to Save the Children, I would be extremely grateful. 

Just £5.00 pays for enough Plumpy Nut to treat a severely malnourished child for 3 months, in one of Save the Children’s feeding programmes. 

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

You can donate using your chosen currency  through my Just Giving page (please click on the tab above.)

ALL donations go directly to Save the Children.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


5 thoughts on “Snacking The Grain Free Way – Day 242 of The Pollyanna Plan

Leave a Reply

