Shopping, Coffee And Smiles – Day 240 of The Pollyanna Plan

“It is not how much we havebut how much we enjoy, that makes happiness.” Charles H. Spurgeon

Day 240, Reason 240: Today I’m so happy that I felt healthy enough to accompany my Mum on a grocery shopping trip to the supermarket AND that we found me some “special” coffee! 🙂

It’s been ages since I’ve felt well enough to leave the house.  But today, I woke up feeling a little stronger and with a burning desire to see the outside world.

Just feeling good enough to WANT to go to the supermarket with my Mum was wonderful. So, you can imagine how much I enjoyed our little shopping trip.

I felt so grateful and happy for every step I took around the shop – a few weeks ago, I’d have really struggled and felt very unwell and weak. But, with my increased dose of thyroxine, my thyroid now seems to be behaving itself, which today meant that I felt strong, confident and joyful to be out and about. Yey!

The funny thing is that shopping is really not my thing! And food shopping is pretty low down on my list of “fun” activities in life. But you wouldn’t think that if you had seen me today, as I bounced around the supermarket with a big smile on my face. I even enjoyed the fact that it was pretty crowded, as it was so good to see actual human beings in the flesh! 🙂

Oh and I was also delighted to find some organic ground coffee!

You see, since discovering that I am TH1 dominant for the particular flavour of autoimmune disease I’m recovering from, I’ve been trying to bring my immune system back into balance by boosting TH2, which in turn should make me feel a lot better. Check out this post from Autoimmune-Paleo for a proper explanation.

One of the foods that is helpful in boosting TH2 is coffee and since finding out about all of this I have been drinking a cup of instant coffee each day.

Only now I’ve just discovered that INSTANT coffee actually can cause problems for people with autoimmune disease. So, PROPER coffee it is! But then I read somewhere (and I wish I could remember where) that coffee is one of the most heavily sprayed and treated crops and only ORGANIC coffee will do.

So, I’ve had to stop drinking coffee for the past couple of weeks, as I didn’t want to risk feeling worse. And I also thought the chances of me finding organic ground coffee in this country were pretty slim (they haven’t really embraced the whole organic deal yet.)

But, as chance (or the Universe) would have it, I found it today – the one and only brand of organic ground coffee in the supermarket –  and I thoroughly enjoyed my first cup this morning…with homemade almond milk…naturally! 🙂

smile

September Juicing Challenge – Day 21, Juice 21: A shot of carrot juice today. 

125 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

125 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

If you would like to sponsor me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, by making a donation to Save the Children, I would be extremely grateful. 

Just £5.00 pays for enough Plumpy Nut to treat a severely malnourished child for 3 months, in one of Save the Children’s feeding programmes. 

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

You can donate using your chosen currency  through my Just Giving page (please click on the tab above.)

ALL donations go directly to Save the Children.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


16 thoughts on “Shopping, Coffee And Smiles – Day 240 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. So glad to hear you’re feeling better 🙂 Coffee gives me stomach cramps, haven’t been able to drink it for years but I love the smell! So glad you’ve found an organic source to help you heal 🙂

  2. That’s wonderful that you’re feeling more improved and you were also able to find some coffee that you can drink! 🙂 I’d be sad if I couldn’t have coffee (and it’s not because of the caffeine–I drink decaf).

  3. Very happy to hear of you having a good day and feeling better. We must cherish each and every one of these days we can get. Thanks for reminding me about coffee, as it helps me with a different problem and I’m going to get out of this bed, go downstairs and brew me up a nice cup of coffee. It’s not organic, but oh well, it will, or it used to help with a different problem.

      1. Well, drinking coffee used to work. I drank 5 cups of coffee and was getting ready to go for cup number 6 when I became very, very sick to my stomach. Needless to say, it did not work and I was awake until 8:00 a.m. the following morning. I bet if I drank some coffee and left the house it would work! LOL you can probably figure out what I’m talking about.
        Peace and Hugs,
        Tammy

Leave a Reply

