Restoring Joy – Day 238 of The Pollyanna Plan

I broke Joy today. 😦

I really didn’t mean to. I was having a mad tidy and dusting session in my bedroom as:

1. I have a little more energy today – yippee!

2. Although I have more energy, I’m sooo tired from a terrible night’s sleep. (Makes no sense, I know, but that’s the whole chronic fatigue versus general tiredness thing for you.) Anyway, I thought cleaning was a good way of getting some exercise, which might help me sleep better tonight.

3. Tomorrow we have a house agent coming to take photos of our house to put it on the market. Step 1 in the moving to Australia dream plan. YAAAAAY!

So, there I was, balancing precariously on the edge of a stool whilst reaching up to the top of my dresser to dust a shelf. When the picture I had just put back slipped on the now super clean, slippy surface, knocking over some of my precious ornaments.

With lightening quick reactions, I reached out and caught two china thimbles I’ve had since I was a child, but I didn’t have enough hands to catch Joy, who hurtled towards the tiled floor as I watched on in horror.

SMASH!

I didn’t want to get down off the stool to look at the damage. I mean, nobody wants to be responsible for destroying Joy, do they?

But, I bravely ventured a peek and discovered that it was only her arm that had snapped off in a very clean break. Phew!

Joy was a birthday present from my Aunt in Australia and I really treasure her. So, this afternoon, with care, attention, love and some glue, I restored Joy.

Day 238, Reason 238: Today I am so happy, grateful and relieved that Joy has been restored! 🙂

I’m sure there’s got to be a lesson to learn from this little tale!

IMG_0831

As her message says, “Joy frees the spirit!” 🙂

September Juicing Challenge – Day 19, Juice 19: Off to make a carrot and apple juice right now!

127 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

127 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

If you would like to sponsor me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, by making a donation to Save the Children, I would be extremely grateful. 

Just £5.00 pays for enough Plumpy Nut to treat a severely malnourished child for 3 months, in one of Save the Children’s feeding programmes. 

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

You can donate using your chosen currency  through my Just Giving page (please click on the tab above.)

ALL donations go directly to Save the Children.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


10 thoughts on “Restoring Joy – Day 238 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. I think the lesson is that even things that are damaged by the hard knocks of life (as so many people are) are worth repairing with love and kind attention, and are still beautiful and worthwhile to have around. Even ourselves. Especially ourselves! 🙂

Leave a Reply

