Lean On Me – Day 231 of The Pollyanna Plan

“Lean on me when you’re not strong. And I’ll be your friend, I’ll help you carry on.”
Lean On Me – Bill Withers

Today Bojangles and I have been supporting each other.

Health-wise things are still not great, so Bojangles has been keeping me company, giving me cuddles by resting his head on me as I’ve been lying on the sofa, and sneaking in a lick of support every now and again.

And, in turn, I have been helping him by reassuring him and making him feel safe because today is not a good day for Bojangles.

IMG_0588

You see, we found Bojangles as a starving and abandoned stray, in November of last year. We’d seen him around for a while, from a distance, as he was living with a herd of horses that belong to a neighbour. We assumed that he was a very old dog belonging to the horse owner, who left him there to guard the horses.

Every night the dustbins in the area had been ransacked and people were getting very fed up with having to constantly clear up the rubbish. We decided to try to get to the bottom of the mystery and followed the trail of rubbish up a steep hill to where the horses were grazing,  and there we first met Bojangles, surrounded by shredded rubbish bags. He had been dragging the bags up the hill to rummage through every night for scraps of food as he was starving; he was practically skin and bones.

It turned out that he didn’t belong to anyone after all, and no one seemed to know where he had come from.

From a distance he had appeared to be an old, arthritic dog, but we now realised that he is in fact only about 3 years old. His leg had been badly broken and had set, out of position. We’ve since also discovered that many of his back teeth are broken, so the vet thinks he was possibly hit by a car. 😦

We coaxed him home with us through howling wind and a thunderstorm, as he was completely soaked and shivering with fear and cold. But could we get him to come in the house? No way! All he was intent on doing was returning to watch over “his” horses.

So instead, my mum trekked up the steep hill every day for a couple of weeks to feed him, until one day the horses and Bojangles had disappeared. Worried, we went out in search of them, driving round for several days to try to find out where the horses had been moved to.

We eventually found them all, on a piece of wasteland, fenced in with corrugated panels, on a busy main road. The horses had enough grazing, but Bojangles was trapped and couldn’t get out to get any food, even from the rubbish bins near there. He was nearly on his last legs, and there was no way we could leave him there.

Between us we managed to lift him into the car – he’s a big dog! Next we had to drag him into the house, and slowly but surely he began to recover and his confidence grew. He had obviously never been in a house before and didn’t know what doors or stairs were; in his eyes they were all monsters out to get him, and he was also terrified of any sudden movements or loud noises.

But today, Bojangles is unrecognisable from the dog he was back then. He is strong, healthy, very happy, always smiling, he does crazy runs on his now mended leg, and is so very loving. In fact he has transferred his instinct to follow and watch over the horses onto us. He follows us everywhere; we even find him waiting for us outside the bathroom door!

It can get a little annoying at times, but on days like this, when I’m ill and stuck on the sofa, I couldn’t wish for better company.  And I think he’s pretty glad to have someone to lie next to all day, as although he has conquered the majority of his fears, he is still terrified of windy days, like today.

Day 231, Reason 231: Today I am so happy and grateful for having Bojangles to lean on. 🙂

IMG_0151Bojangles and Me…on a better day! 

September Juicing Challenge – Day 12, Juice 12:  I really was planning on being adventurous with my juicing, but I’m afraid it’s got to be another carrot juice today. At least I’m sticking to the challenge.

134 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

134 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

 Save the Children are working to help the children of Syria and their families by providing them with food, safe water, medicine, shelter and support.  If you would like to sponsor me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, by making a donation to Save the Children, I would be most grateful. 

27928_10153193091460191_428790731_n

 Image: https://www.facebook.com/savethechildrenuk

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

You can donate using your chosen currency  through my Just Giving page (please click on the tab above.)

ALL donations go directly to Save the Children.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

 


18 thoughts on “Lean On Me – Day 231 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Hi Pollyanna,
    I’m so glad you have someone to lean on today. Sometimes there’s no one better to be with than your loyal, furry friend. I’m so happy and grateful for people like you and your mum who care about animals and have big hearts.
    BTW, you are beautiful! I’d never seen a pic of you and had a different picture in my mind of you.
    Sending you good healing vibes.

    Nina

  2. You have such a beautiful dog! 🙂 I can agree, on my bad days nothing is better than spending time with my dog Anubis. He usually distracts me from the fibro pain. This was a very uplifting post! 🙂

  3. This encounter with Bogangles might well be your turning point. You have taken on a brave and focused journey. Don’t let the end date get in your way….The best to you spirited one.
    To Your Health,
    Susan

  4. Awww, that’s so lovely. Many karma points to you for taking him in! Oh, and this is the first time I’m seeing your face, but you look pretty much exactly like I pictured you. Geez, it’s like I’m psychic or something. Aha ha ha ha snort. 😛

      1. Lol, I could have seen it anyway, the photo is just a bonus. Your type is actually what I call “my pastel people” or “my fluorite people,” because their colors are typically soft purples, greens, blues, and pinks, like fluorite (you seem strongest on the blue and pink, actually). Mostly upper chakra colors, and very soft and gentle. Very giving and altruistic, heart-centered, not super-forceful people, but extremely loyal to a few loved ones. Interested in communicating on a deeper, more spiritual level.

        I usually see them inside a glass bubble, because they need more protection from the surrounding world, being highly sensitive and empathetic people. I’m not surprised by your physical issues either, as your base chakra is probably not your strongest one, so like me you’re likely to have physical issues. So I’d say you fit that profile pretty well, just offhand. In Ayurvedic terms, you’re probably a Vata. 🙂

      2. Thank you so much for that! I wasn’t expecting you to go into so much detail.

        Wow – you’re good! You’ve pretty much summed me up. 🙂 And I’m happy with blues and pinks! 😉

        I find it all so interesting!

      3. Oh heck, that’s just the skim-off-the top stuff. But it doesn’t surprise me that you like blue lace agate. That’s the color of blue I see for your throat chakra – again a nice pastel shade.

        Interestingly, although I don’t see much red or orange on you for the base or sacral chakras, you do have some brown for the earth chakra, which is even deeper than the base. I think of it literally as a root running into the earth, and it signifies a very deep connection with the planet and with animals, which you clearly do have. Kind of funny that you skip over the other two on the way, but again it’s sort of part of your overall personality type.

        Probably doing some things to connect with your base and sacral chakras might help – even as simply as surrounding yourself with more red or orange objects, eating foods of those colors, or carrying some fire agate or carnelian. We cool, airy Vata types need all the warming and grounding we can get.

        I’ll bet you can find some chakra meditations online, too, if it interests you. 🙂

      4. Thank you, thank you, thank you for all the info. That’s truly amazing. I’m fascinated to know how you do it!

        I like the thought that I’m rooted to the Earth – It’s a comforting feeling! 🙂 Like you say, I definitely need to strengthen my base and sacral chakras, so I shall be taking all of your advice. Thank you so much again! I really, really appreciate it! xx

    1. I really don’t know exactly how I do it, except that if I think about a person in my head, I can see the colors of their chakras and what’s going on with each one. Then if I really get deeply connected, usually through meditation, I often get info about their background, emotional issues, relationships, etc. I can feel how they feel about themselves and about their lives.

      It’s not so much an externally visual thing, it’s more intuitive, which is why I don’t necessarily even need a photo. That’s just a point of focus. My mother thinks it’s funny that when I read people in person, I generally look away from them, because it’s less distracting that way. When we went to the teahouse the other day, for example, I read a waitress who was two rooms away. Proximity seems to be of no importance whatsoever in these matters. 🙂

Leave a Reply

