Thank God For Quinoa! – Day 227 of The Pollyanna Plan

I have a lot of things to be thankful for today:

  • I am feeling a little better healthwise than yesterday- BIG YIPPPEE! And big thanks to my body and it’s magical healing abilities.
  • I have been able to stay vertical and out of bed for a lot longer. Yippee again!
  • And I’ve even managed to finish off a commissioned piece I have been working on all week. I couldn’t have imagined being able to do that yesterday. Yippee x3!

But, my main reason to feel super glad today is this:

Day 227, Reason 227: Today I am so very grateful and happy for quinoa!

gekookte-quinoa-5666571

Bit of an odd one I know, so let me explain.

Sometimes, when I’m feeling particularly poorly, I completely lose my appetite and the only foods I can face eating are very plain and simple. In the past, my staple “ill food” was always toast with a scraping of honey.

But now, thanks to my all my weird and wonderful food intolerances, I can’t eat grains or cereals of any kind, so not only can I not eat real bread, but I also can’t eat all the gluten free varieties either. So, the only food I fancy eating at the moment, I’m not allowed to eat. 😦

This would have really got me down, if it weren’t for the fact that I CAN eat quinoa (which is a seed not a grain.) During this recent health setback I’ve discovered that quinoa with some honey drizzled on top makes a passable toast and honey substitute. Hoorah!

Thank God/the Universe for quinoa! 🙂

September Juicing Challenge – Day 8, Juice 8:  Again, I don’t really feel like a juice today, but I’ll have a few sips of carrot juice. It seemed to help yesterday. 

138 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

138 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

 Save the Children are working to help the children of Syria and their families by providing them with food, safe water, medicine, shelter and support.  If you would like to sponsor me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, by making a donation to Save the Children, I would be most grateful. 

27928_10153193091460191_428790731_n

 Image: https://www.facebook.com/savethechildrenuk

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

You can donate using your chosen currency  through my Just Giving page (please click on the tab above.)

ALL donations go directly to Save the Children.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

 


15 thoughts on “Thank God For Quinoa! – Day 227 of The Pollyanna Plan

      1. I’ve recently got some quinoa flour, it has a really nice flavor. I also have quinoa flakes which I make porridge with, it’s much lighter than oat based porridge. I recommend it!

  1. Great to know you are feeling better. Quinoa is really good, I haven’t had any problems with it either! Nice to hear you finished the commission piece, you must be feeling happy about that. Yah for progress!
    Ciao, Susan

Leave a Reply

