From Giving To Juicing! – Day 219 of The Pollyanna Plan

As one challenge draws to a close today, another one begins.

Today is the final day of my 31 Day Giving Challenge – based on Cami Walker’s 29 Day Giving Challenge, only with 2 more days so it fitted into the month of August. 🙂

I’ve had a lot of fun with my gifts and, due to the health setback I’ve suffered for most of the month, I’ve had to be creative and find ways of giving without leaving the house. This has lead me to discover some wonderful websites, charities, causes and organisations to support with my time and money.

Before I started this challenge, I hadn’t really realised what a powerful force giving is. Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t some mean-spirited Scrooge type, I’ve always been happy to help and support others, but focusing on giving this month has taught me a lot.

“No one has ever become poor by giving.” Anne Frank

It would seem that through the act of giving selflessly and happily, we begin to attract abundance into our life. I have loved giving my gifts this month and have been amazed that the more I gave away, the more money, good luck and happy circumstances I seemed to attract to me.

For example, I have sold more items through my online shop this month than any other month to date. (Most other online shop owners have been complaining that August is their worst month of the year for sales.) I’ve also attracted little sums of money, from all sorts of weird, wonderful and unexpected sources. I know I’ve said it before, but it just goes to prove that you can’t outgive the Universe. 🙂

So onto my next challenge…

This morning, despite having had a cracking headache for most of the night, I desperately wanted to get out of the house. It’s been ages since I’ve felt well enough to go out and do anything, so I joined my Mum for a short outing to the Saturday local produce market.

We wandered around the colourful stalls, buying beautifully fresh, organic fruit and vegetables. Inspired by the goodies we purchased, I dug my juicer out of the cupboard when we got home and made a carrot and tomato juice. Delish!

IMG_0626

And just like that, my next challenge was born.

Starting from tomorrow, I am undertaking a vegetable juice challenge – one veggie juice a day (maybe with some fruit thrown in from time to time) for the whole of September.

I’ve tried juicing before and really enjoyed it, but I’ve never done it consistently enough to properly notice any health benefits, although I know there are plenty.

So, there we have it… let the juicing commence! Anyone else want to join me?

Day 219, Reason 219: Today I am very happy and grateful to have successfully completed one challenge and I’m excited to start another. 

31 Day Giving Challenge – Day 31 Gift 31: Today I bought a fresh fish as a gift for our dinner to celebrate the end of my challenge. Usually my Mum buys all our food, as I don’t earn very much.

146 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

146 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

 Save the Children are working to help the children of Syria and their families by providing them with food, safe water, medicine, shelter and support.  If you would like to sponsor me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, by making a donation to Save the Children, I would be most grateful. 

524453_10153161146735191_1154682998_n

 

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

You can donate using your chosen currency  through my Just Giving page (please click on the tab above.)

ALL donations go directly to Save the Children.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

 


11 thoughts on “From Giving To Juicing! – Day 219 of The Pollyanna Plan

    1. Very healthy! 🙂 But I think juicing has greater health benefits than smoothies. I will investigate and get back to you! 🙂

  1. I do veggie smoothies too, almost every day. Sometimes twice! I bought a Ninja blender with the single-serve cups, and it does a great job. I like it because it doesn’t waste the pulp so I keep all the fiber, and I can add things like Greek yogurt, protein powder, chia seeds, flax seeds, nuts, etc. Yum-yum! 🙂

  2. P.S. I use frozen veggies almost exclusively – it makes the shakes taste better when they’re cold, it keeps a long time in the freezer, and there’s no prep or washing time at all. We have a farmer’s market here too, but only a few months out of the year.

    1. Frozen veggies are a great idea! I’m doing juicing rather than smoothies, as I’m sure I’ve read that is has some pretty impressive healing properties. I’m going to research it further and will keep you up to date. 🙂

      My juicer collects the pulp too, so I’m going to use it for baking.

      1. Cool! But why do you feel juicing has greater health benefits than smoothies? In both cases you’re still consuming the juice in an easy-to-absorb format, but green smoothies retain the whole fruit or veg, so you get all the fiber as well. I can’t see why juicing alone would be healthier (and would tend to think the reverse, in fact). If you find out, though, please let us know! 🙂

        P.S. I do think that fruit-only smoothies are not necessarily the best choice, as they can be really high in sugar.

      2. In general, I think they are both equally as healthy, but for healing, especially any digestive issues, juicing makes the nutrients much easier to absorb and digest.

        As the Gerson Therapy Website says “fresh pressed juice from raw foods provides the easiest and most effective way of providing high quality nutrition.”

        Also, a friend of the family healed from cancer by following a strict juice-only diet for a few weeks. That was over 10 years ago and he’s now in his mid 80’s, still going on walking holidays! 🙂

Leave a Reply

