Learning To Accept Failure With A Smile – Day 212 of The Pollyanna Plan

This afternoon, I finally finished the commissioned piece I have been working tirelessly on for the past week. You’d think this would be cause for celebration – in some ways it is, as even completing it is a great achievement – but unfortunately, it just didn’t turn out the way I had hoped.

I was already fighting a losing battle, as the only fabric I had that was suitable for the design my customer wanted wasn’t really the right fabric to work with. Added to this, although initially I was delighted that I thought I had enough fabric to make the piece, due it’s flimsy nature, it turns out that I probably needed double to create the intended look.

After so many hours of work and the blood (well nearly) sweat and tears that I put into making it, I’m feeling pretty disappointed. And being a perfectionist, I really do hate it when things don’t turn out…well, perfect. I have offered my customer a full refund and I hope they understand that I gave it my best.

However, the silver lining behind this particular dark, menacing cloud is this.

Day 212, Reason 212: Today I am very grateful to have learnt to accept failure with a smile.

m225163272

I always used to think that accepting “what is”  was akin to throwing in the towel and believing that things could never get any better. But, in fact, today I’ve learnt that acceptance of what is, is more about not allowing circumstances and situations to destroy all the good work I’ve been doing on positivity and feeling grateful and happy.

Last night, I came across this post by Brooke over at the blog “I Now Give Thanks”, about how her acceptance of a situation completely turned things around for her. I guess I was meant to come across this particular post for a reason, as I’ve found it so helpful today in reminding me to accept, accept, accept, smile and then let go. Thanks Brooke! 🙂

So what if my worst case scenario happened? I have learnt a lot from this failure and I am open to whatever the universe wants to teach me.

Ok, I keep having to remind myself of this when I fall back into my usual habit of beating myself up about failures, but it’s huge progress on how I would have dealt with the situation 6 months ago. Hoorah!

31 Day Giving Challenge – Day 24 Gift 24: Today I signed a petition to urge the UN General Assembly to do something to help the children of Syria and I used to social media to spread the word.

153 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

153 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

 Save the Children are working to help the children of Syria and their families feel safe by providing them with food, safe water, medicine, shelter and support.  If you would like to sponsor me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, by making a donation to Save the Children, I would be most grateful. 

You can donate using your chosen currency  through my Just Giving page (please click on the tab below.) ALL donations go directly to Save the Children. 

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you!

 


8 thoughts on “Learning To Accept Failure With A Smile – Day 212 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Not to worry, I don’t really believe in failure in cases like this. It’s nothing more than a learning process, or experimentation, and you’ll do better next time, having learned something from this time.

    When I started teaching myself to cast and finish silver jewelry, for example, I “failed” numberless times before I finally got it right. But I was really kind of innovating, and it sounds like you are too.

    Many great inventions have been accomplished that way – just ask Thomas Edison, who tried about a million different things before he got the lightbulb right. 🙂

    1. 🙂 Thank you very much for your encouragement! I like your thinking – I haven’t failed, I’m just innovating! Hehe!

      And you’re right, I’ve learnt a lot and I’m going to try it again this week, as I’m not giving up on this until I get it right. 🙂

  2. You know when you’re getting into something and the universe begins to throw it in your path all the time? Well I have come across this quotation in so many books and writing articles this year. (Will add source when next online)….

    If plan A doesn’t work, there are 25 more letters in the alphabet.

Leave a Reply

