Gremlins And Micro Loans – Day 205 of The Pollyanna Plan

Confession time…. I have not been a happy bunny for most of the day.

Sometime during the night, I woke shivering and sweating with a high fever and a very sore throat.  Just when my health seemed to be getting so much better, the sore throat/fever gremlin has raised his ugly head.

You see, this isn’t a virus or bacterial infection, this is my very own nasty gremlin- a sort of reaction to something…if only I knew what that something was!

One reason to feel grateful is that the gremlin used to show up every few weeks, make himself at home and stay for weeks at a time. Thankfully, since the start of The Pollyanna Plan, his unwelcome visits have been a lot less frequent and he doesn’t hang around for nearly as long. Phew!

Although, this hasn’t been much consolation today, as I have a low grade fever, an incredibly sore throat, I’m aching all over and generally feeling very rubbish indeed. Added to this, I can’t take any form of medication, pain relief or analgesic, as they badly affect my stomach.

See..not my usual, positive, happy self at all!

In an attempt to cheer myself up, I turned my thoughts to my gift for the day (today is day 17 of my 31 Day Giving Challenge.) However, finding a gift I could give when I’m not well enough to get out of bed, was going to be very tricky indeed.

But, this is where the magic of the internet comes in. This evening, I have been trawling through websites for ideas and inspirations, when I came across  Help From Home. Their tag line is “Change the world in just your pyjamas” – Perfect!

Unknown

The site works on the concept of micro-volunteering – volunteering in bite-sized chunks from home, whenever you want to. I scrolled through lots of varied “Good Actions” to take and was beginning to get a little despondent, as I wasn’t eligible to take part in quite a few due to location.

But then I found, Deki and for the first time today I smiled a proper, big smile! 🙂  Deki’s ethos is to empower people in Togo, Malawi and Nepal, who are living in poverty “to create sustainable livelihoods by providing access to ethical microloans and training.”

This is how it works:  From as little as £10, your microloan (which doesn’t earn any interest) can help a borrower create a sustainable livelihood – allowing them to work their way out of poverty.

On the website, you can choose an entrepreneur you’d like to help with your loan by reading their story and seeing a photo of them.  Once you have chosen the person you’d like to help, you lend them some money (I chose to loan £10) and you are then repaid monthly, until you have been repaid in full, which usually takes between 6 months to a year. At this point you can either reclaim your loan or use it to re-invest in another entrepreneur.

I just think it’s such a wonderful concept and I couldn’t think of a better way to invest my money than supporting someone and helping them to achieve their dreams and  turn their lives around. Yey, welcome back positive Pollyanna! 🙂

Day 205, Reason 205: Today I feel extremely honoured  and happy to be able to assist my chosen entrepreneur with a micro loan.

31 Day Giving Challenge – Day 17 Gift 17: Today I gave a gift of a micro-loan to help an entrepreneur achieve their dreams.

160 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

160 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

As part of The Pollyanna Plan, I am raising money for Save the Children  through sponsorship. If you would like to sponsor me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, please click on the tab below.

You can donate using your chosen currency and ALL donations go directly to Save the Children. 

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you!

 

 


5 thoughts on “Gremlins And Micro Loans – Day 205 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. I love that before the end of your post you were positive and by the end – you recognised it yourself!
    I have struggled this week – for 2 days all I wanted to do was sleep – and I knew I also needed to conserve energy for this weekend. People around me were encouraging me to fight it – but you get to know your own gremlins after a while, don’t you? And I knew the best thing to do was give into it and sleep.
    Be gentle on yourself and know that positivity and high functioning comes at a price. That price is once in a while we feel like we used to feel EVERYDAY!

    I hold onto the fact it only happens every month or so and not EVERY day – and it lasts a few days and not weeks…

    Keep going – your journey is 2/3’s complete and remember you are feeling better and living better than you have for years…. those gremlins are bound to be a lil’ peeved off! 😉

    1. Hehe! I like to imagine that I am REALLY annoying my gremlins with just how much my health has improved since I started The Pollyanna Plan. 🙂

      You’re so right about holding onto the fact that the gremlins only show up once in a while now, instead of being permanent, every day residents. That’s good reason to celebrate.

      I’m glad you listened to your body and rested when you knew you needed to, despite others trying to encourage you to fight it. I’ve learnt the hard way to listen to my instincts when it comes to my health. It’s definitely the best thing to do.

      Feel better soon. x

  2. Yep, I had a bad couple of days myself last week, but like you I knew it would improve if I just hung in there, and it did. I really hope you’ll feel better soon too.

    Love the idea of the micro loans. Have you ever checked out greatergood.com? You can click to give there daily for free. You might like! 🙂

    1. Thank you for the get better soon wishes and for the website. It’s a brilliant site, I shall definitely be using it for one or more of my gifts this month.

      Sorry to hear you’ve been feeling crappy too. Glad you’re on the mend now. x

Leave a Reply

