Finding Gratitude In The Most Unlikely Places – Day 204 of The Pollyanna Plan

Day 204, Reason 204: Today I am grateful for the fact that I am now grateful for things that I never used to be grateful for! 🙂

I had a really bad night’s sleep last night and was woken up a hundred million times (well, it felt like it) by various noises, my dogs barking and the hot, stuffy air. At about 6am (otherwise known as the middle of the night) after lying awake for a while,  I got up to open the window wider and was greeted by the most beautiful sunrise.

I can’t remember when I last saw a sunrise – as I said 6am is waaaay too early for me – and I just stood there taking in the glorious colours. Usually being wide awake so very early would leave me feeling very fed up, because I always feel so much worse if I haven’t had enough sleep, but today I was grateful that I’d been awake to greet a brand, new day.

Later on, when I finally dragged my weary self from bed, I set off on a mission to re-new my car tax. The traffic was at nightmare proportions (the whole of the country – and most of Europe – come here on holiday during August) but instead of feeling annoyed and irritated, I felt grateful that even after a crappy night’s sleep, I had the strength, energy and wellbeing to get out of the house and to be driving my little car. Ok, not really driving, more starting and stopping as the traffic edged forward.

Then, when I arrived at the car tax office, I diligently took my queue-ticket and waited in line, only to discover that there were 15 people in front of me, only one person on the desk and at least 7 other people who randomly managed to jump the queue for various reasons.

funny-line-standing

In total I waited one whole, looooong hour and I didn’t even have my phone with me to keep me entertained, as it had broken the previous evening.

Usually, I’d be pretty peeved about all the above, but today I felt grateful for the following.

  • The office had air con – it’s stifling hot here today.
  • There was a spare chair for me to sit on.
  • It gave me time to do my daily 15 minutes of giving thanks for all the great things in my life- in my head of course, but I couldn’t help smiling to myself. People must have thought I was a little odd.

Just as it was edging up to my turn, the guy behind the desk announced that he would soon be closing for lunch and that everyone would have to come back this afternoon. Arrrrghhhhh! I jokingly threatened to cry, but it turns out that all my positive thinking and giving thanks worked in my favour, as he had just enough time to serve me before the office closed. Hoorah! Sorry to all those people in the queue behind me.

However, as I got to the desk and he asked for my I.D card, my stomach dropped. I had given my I.D card to my Mum earlier in the morning, as she had kindly taken my phone to be repaired for me and needed my I.D as proof of ownership. I had waited all that time for nothing!

As a last ditch effort, I searched through my wallet for any other form of I.D that would do and there at the back was the very I.D card I thought I didn’t have. Turns out I gave my Mum my driver’s license by mistake, which they accepted at the phone shop.

I just stood there beaming and silently thanking the Universe for the helping hand. Never has anyone looked so over joyed to have paid for their car tax! 🙂

Oh and in case you’re thinking, “why didn’t you do it all online?” I challenge you to figure out the website in this country! 🙂

31 Day Giving Challenge – Day 16 Gift 16: Today I sent Reiki healing to a WordPress friend.

161 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

161 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

As part of The Pollyanna Plan, I am raising money for Save the Children  through sponsorship. If you would like to sponsor me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, please click on the tab below.

You can donate using your chosen currency and ALL donations go directly to Save the Children. 

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you!

 

 


12 thoughts on “Finding Gratitude In The Most Unlikely Places – Day 204 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Love this story! How fun that your ID was there. I wonder would it have been of you hadn’t been spending you waiting time in gratitude? It just seems the more we focus on the positive the more things go positively. Pollyanna rules!

    1. 🙂 Thank you! I was wondering exactly the same thing. If I had been getting all frustrated and annoyed (like the man sitting in the queue next to me) would I have found that I really didn’t have my ID card with me? I guess, we’ll never know!

      But, focusing on the positive DEFINITELY makes life go a lot smoother! 🙂

  2. Pollyanna definitely rules! It’s weird I slept really badly last night too! I woke up at 3 and didn’t really go back to sleep. I got up at 6 too! Weird freaky coincidence or what?! And I’ve also been pleasantly surprised and am very grateful that I haven’t felt as awful as I feared I might because of it. I definitely perked up this evening so thank thank you for your lovely Reiki healing. So glad we are wordpress friends 🙂 x

  3. Love the cartoon – this had been my story all week – the worst in the bank waiting for 20mins then an assistant came to take me to the instant machines – but I hadn’t got the extra money so she had to do it all on a computer in a back office – taking my card – hate that even in a bank – and then… I watched 4 customers served in that time – my transition would have taken seconds at the counter.

    I need to get over the angst and anxiety this causes.

    1. I’m trying to learn to use the time spent waiting or in queues for something positive and creative, like visualising!

Leave a Reply

