What Would MacGyver Do? – Day 203 of The Pollyanna Plan

This afternoon, my Mum has been helping me to shorten a maxi-dress that I never get to wear as it’s either too hot or too cold, into an above the knee dress, perfect for summer!

It occurred to me, as I was standing on the dining room table wearing the dress and my Mum was pinning it at the right length using a broom as a guide – she’d marked the broom handle at the exact point the dress needed to be shortened to- that she is really rather awesome!

She is so very practical and can do pretty much any type of DIY, basic plumbing, electrical stuff,  car maintenance, arts and crafts…oh and she’s extremely handy with a sewing machine too.

In fact, she’s acquired the nickname, “MacGyver.” Do you remember that show? It was about a secret agent dude who solved all these complicated problems and got out of improbable fixes by using anything he had to hand – piece of chewing gum, some sticky tape, that kind of thing.  Anyway, that’s my Mum for you!

macgyver_bigger

Image: http://www.touchwoodproject.com

For years, I’ve had to let my Mum do all the practical stuff for me, as I’ve been too ill to do things for myself and subsequently, I don’t know how to do a lot of it. But, now, as with every passing month I’m feeling better and better, I’m able to give these things a go and have learn MacGyver skills.

So, it is with great joy, that I’m going to sit and hem my dress by hand this evening, as I watch the TV…ALL BY MYSELF! Ok, I know MacGyver probably wouldn’t have done this, but you can bet your life that using a needle and thread will come in very handy if I ever need to single handedly land an aircraft, or something similar! 😉

Day 203, Reason 203: Today I am so happy and grateful that I am feeling well enough to learn new practical skills AND that I have a Macgyver Mum! 🙂

31 Day Giving Challenge – Day 15 Gift 15: Today I gave a small donation to some lovely ladies who came to the door collecting for a religious festival that is held each year in our village.

162 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

162 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

As part of The Pollyanna Plan, I am raising money for Save the Children  through sponsorship. If you would like to sponsor me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, please click on the tab below.

You can donate using your chosen currency and ALL donations go directly to Save the Children. 

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you!

 

 


10 thoughts on “What Would MacGyver Do? – Day 203 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. There’s nothing quite like the satisfaction of being able to do something yourself. Great one! My sewing machine is hidden in the cupboard, I had to stop it looking at me reproachfully. 😧

    1. I haven’t had the energy to finish it yet! But, thankfully I’m feeling a little better today and I’m going to do it this evening. 🙂

  2. We are the generation of lost arts – for these things – I am grateful for my gran and my great aunt for teaching me sewing, knitting and my mum for cake making and ironing!

      1. I didn’t say I was any good at I 😉
        To make you feel better …. 25 Years on;
        I remember how to knit, but not w to cast off…
        I sew to darn and mend not create and make…
        I haven’t baked a cake for a decade…
        I iron only for weddings, funerals and job interviews … I hate it! Always seem to iron more creases in!

Leave a Reply

