Be Happy – Day 202 of The Pollyanna Plan

Day 202, Reason 202: Today I am so grateful that, thanks to The Pollyanna Plan, I am no longer waiting for anything to happen or to change in order to be happy now. 

After an eventful day yesterday – a day where I had more energy than I’ve had for a long time – today has not been such a good day health wise.

Maybe it’s something to do with the new supplement I’ve been taking to help balance my immune system – I gave myself a break from it for a couple of days and took a slightly higher dose this morning –  or maybe it’s totally unrelated. Who knows!

But the thing that struck me today is how I happy I feel, regardless of this minor setback to my health. Happiness always used to be something I thought I’d find…

When I was healthy again.

When I had some energy.

When I was earning money.

When I had a proper career.

When I’d found my purpose in life.

When I had a boyfriend…

When, when, when! And you know what? It turns out that “when” is now!

I now realise that I was putting my happiness on hold until one of these things materialised, never for one moment comprehending that I didn’t need anything outside of myself to feel happiness right now, in this moment, no matter what.

I know it sounds cheesy, but happiness really does come from within and I am very grateful for having truly understood such a valuable lesson. 🙂

Be-Happy

31 Day Giving Challenge – Day 14 Gift 14: Today I sent a cheery greeting card to a seriously ill child through this wonderful website – Post Pals. There are similar sites in USA, if you feel  inspired to do the same. 🙂

163 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

163 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

As part of The Pollyanna Plan, I am raising money for Save the Children  through sponsorship. If you would like to sponsor me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, please click on the tab below.

You can donate using your chosen currency and ALL donations go directly to Save the Children. 

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you!

 

 


13 thoughts on “Be Happy – Day 202 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. I know exactly what you mean. Although I’ve felt awful this week, worse than I’ve felt in ages, I’ve stopped and thought, yet I’m still happy. Amazing. Positive thinking is the only way to be! Thank you as always for the inspiration 🙂

    1. Thank YOU as always for your lovely comments. 🙂 Although I’m really sorry to hear that you’ve been feeling awful this week, I’m sooo pleased that you’re still happy! Yeay you! That’s awesome! 🙂

      I know this may sound a little odd, but as you may know I’m in the middle of a 31 Day Giving Challenge. I’m a Reiki healer and as one of my gifts, I’d like to send you some distant healing, with your permission. Don’t worry if you want to say no, just know that the offer is there. x

      Please feel free to email me: thepollyannaplan@gmail.com

      1. That is such a lovely idea, I would love to be a recipient of some distant healing. Thank you thank you in advance! I had some Reiki therapy last year and found it so soothing. That has put a smile on my face, yay, thank you 🙂

  2. Happiness comes from inside us and we are the only ones who can make ourselves feel happiness. We are really the only ones who can do it.
    The fact that I know this and can’t quite get there is an infernal disappointment…. yet those who know label me as strong and high functioning – I know it is only a matter of time – it will come –
    but yes, definitely don’t wait for it to come on the back of something else. . . true happiness will never arrive this way.
    Peace x

    1. I’m discovering that there are always reasons to feel happy in the present moment. Some days you just need to search a little harder for them. You are so right, true happiness comes from within. 🙂

Leave a Reply

