A Marvellous Night For a Moonlit Walk – Day 198 of The Pollyanna Plan

Day 198, Reason 198: Today I am grateful for a magical, mystical, moonlit walk.

IMG_0588

This post is a little later than usual, as although I’ve been cheerfully happy all day, I was having trouble pinning down my exact reason to feel glad/happy/joyful.

As dusk began to settle, my Mum suggested we go for a moonlit walk with the dogs and right from the outset I could feel the sense of something magical in the air.

A silvery, sliver of moon hung low in the sky next to Venus shining brightly in the west. And as we walked across the bridge over the small, river that flows through the valley near our house, three nightjars swooped, silently low over our heads. Nightjars always strike me as mystical birds, gliding through the night air, without making a sound.

4052596

Nightjar in flight – http://www.thisissussex.co.uk

I had taken my camera along for good measure, but it was already too dark to capture much, so I took a quick shot of the moon to see how it would turn out.  And when I got home, I discovered something a little strange in my picture. See the photo at the top of this post…just below and to the right of the moon is an faint, orb type shape.

I probably wouldn’t have thought anything of it, except that it reminded me of the night of the supermoon, when I was trying to capture a good photo of the huge, full moon as it rose. I was using my old digital camera (I used my new, dslr tonight) and at the time, I assumed it was on the blink, as this is what happened in all my pics:

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

Curiouser and curiouser!

So my question for all you lovely people is… what are these orbs and why do they keep showing up in my night time photos on different cameras?!

167 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

167 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

31 Day Giving Challenge – Day 10 Gift 10: Today I offered to make one of my handmade items as a gift to brighten up the day of a little girl with cancer.

As part of The Pollyanna Plan I am raising money for Save the Children  through sponsorship. If you would like to sponsor me on my journey to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful for 365 days, please click on the tab below.You can donate using your chosen currency and ALL donations go directly to Save the Children. 

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you!

 

 


10 thoughts on “A Marvellous Night For a Moonlit Walk – Day 198 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Generally speaking, orbs are bits of dust in the air or on your lens that reflect a little bit of light back at your camera, especially if you’re using flash. They look more mystical than they actually are. Looks like a lovely walk, though! 🙂

  2. I’ve read that no one really knows what orbs are, but many people have done tests to prove that it wasn’t dust. It’s suspected that it is a non-physical phenomenon. They are generally found when there is a lot of good energy going on. I’ve seen them in photos where some high vibe people were. Look it up; you’ll find some fascinating information.

    1. 🙂 Oh that’s lovely!! You are very lucky! 🙂 I’d like to think they are celestial too, as I keep being surrounded by them in photos. Either that, or it’s very dusty round here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

