My Favourite Things – Day 192 of The Pollyanna Plan

“Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens…” Yep, that’s right, I’m going all Julie Andrews in The Sound of Music on you today.

This morning I woke up feeling rough – my throat was sore, raw and raspy, my eyes were red rimmed and puffed up and I seemed to have misplaced my happy vibes. Stumbling from my bed to the sofa, I lay there looking and feeling sorry for myself, when my Mum suggested that my symptoms might be due to hayfever and it could help to try a little EFT (tapping.)

Turns out she was right (Mum’s usually are!) and after a few rounds of EFT, my symptoms began to improve a little and I felt a lot more like my usual, happy self.

This in itself was very good news, but it also meant that I felt up to a short outing into the big, wide world. Hoorah! And here’s where the Julie Andrews part comes in, as although I wasn’t out for long, I had the best time doing some of my favourite things.

I’ve watched The Sound of Music countless times as a child – I practically know it word for word and I can sing you any song from the movie (should I be admitting this?? Probably not!) But, it was only today that I really realised the power of  doing, singing about, (thinking about or writing about) my favourite things to raise my happy, positive, feeling on-top-of-the-world vibes .

So, I’ve composed a little ditty about my day (apologies in advance, I’m no poet!)

Relaxing in a beautiful place with a view of the sea-shore,
Giving thanks for all the things I’m so grateful for,
Leaving a gift to make a stranger smile,
Finding the stillness and meditating for a while,
Looking forward to a spot of dog-walking,
These are a few of my favourite things.

Day 192, Reason 192: Today I am so happy and grateful to have felt well enough to do some of my favourite things. 🙂

31 Day Giving Challenge – Day 4, Gift 4: Today I left a coin in a shopping trolley (cart) so that someone else wouldn’t have to pay to use it.

173 days to go of The Pollyanna Plan

173 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

And…

… WE DID IT! We raised £365 for Save the Children in just 178 days – Truly amazing – And now our total stands at £377.99!!!

Let’s see how much MORE we can raise together in 365 days. 

Even a small donation goes a long, long way:

Just £1.25 buys enough bottles of Fansidar syrup for the treatment of 5 children with Malaria.

If you would like to sponsor me and The Pollyanna Plan, please click on the tab below. You can donate using your chosen currency and ALL donations go directly to Save the Children.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


8 thoughts on “My Favourite Things – Day 192 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. I am laughing at this because I wrote a post this morning and changed the title…Originally it was “My Favorite Things”! I have 5 sisters and we all know all the lines of this movie by heart! Love it! and I love your verse.
    I can’t wait to blog about you! You’re priceless!

    1. 🙂 Thanks, Susan! I can’t wait to be interviewed for your wonderful blog. How funny that you were going to call your post the same thing! And I’m so glad that I’m not the only Sound of Music super fan! 🙂

  2. Love it! I was in the Sound of Music in high school – I played the baroness. I’ve always been fond of it too. I love your little gift program, that sounds like a lot of fun. I sure hope you feel better soon!

    My friend Rohan over at the blog Rohan Seven Things recently recommended using apple cider vinegar and organic honey as a hay fever cure. You might try that if the EFT doesn’t entirely cover it. Unless that’s not on your approved list of foods, of course. 🙂

    1. Thank you, Jennifer! I’ll give the cider vinegar and honey cure a go – although I already eat/drink cider vinegar and honey (separately) every day.

      I was in an extract of the Sound of Music too. I played Gretl when I was 3!! All I had to do was sing, “The sun has gone to bed and so must I.” But, I still remember it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

