The Oasis – Day 188 of The Pollyanna Plan

After 10 long days of being confined to my bed or the sofa feeling ill, I finally felt well enough today to venture out into the bright sunlight. This afternoon, my Mum took me out in the car for a short drive to see the outside world, and boy was I in for a shock!

In the time I’ve been housebound, tourist season has suddenly exploded into action. The usually quiet, sleepy, seaside town just down the road from our house, has been transformed into a bustling, busy tourist resort. There were traffic jams, hoards of scantily clad people carrying colourful towels, bags and lilos (I even spotted a blow up crocodile) and not a single parking space to be found.

I don’t enjoy crowds and busyness at the best of times, let alone when it’s hot and I’m still not feeling too well. So, instead we  headed up the hill out of town to see if we could find somewhere more peaceful with an ocean view. We turned into a quiet road we’d never driven down before and came across a cool, calm oasis amidst the craziness of the summer season.

IMG_0523

Here was the perfect place to stand for a few minutes, breathe in the salty air, appreciate the glorious colours of nature, let the wind play with my hair and feel my soul at peace. I can’t think of better medicine than that! 🙂

Day 188, Reason 188: Today I feel so very grateful that I was well enough to leave the house and discover this beautiful, calm oasis in the middle of the summer chaos.

177 days to go

177 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

And…

… WE DID IT! We raised £365 for Save the Children in just 178 days – Truly amazing – And now our total stands at £377.99!!!

Let’s see how much MORE we can raise together in 365 days. 

Even a small donation goes a long , long way:

Just £0.31 buys 8 sachets of Oral Dehydration Salt for a child suffering from dehydration.

If you would like to sponsor me and The Pollyanna Plan, please click on the tab below. You can donate using your chosen currency and ALL donations go directly to Save the Children.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


9 thoughts on “The Oasis – Day 188 of The Pollyanna Plan

    1. Hehe! This is where we need British to American Google Translate! 🙂 A lilo (pronounced lie-low) is a blow up bed thingy that people lie on in the pool or take to the beach with them. What do you call them?!

  1. Cannot believe you have only just discovered this gorgeous spot. When the tourists have all gone home you should spend a day as a tourist in your own town and see what else you discover.

    I used to live in Canterbury and that place was heaving all year round with tourists!

Leave a Reply

