Making Gratitude My Default Setting – Day 182 of The Pollyanna Plan

I’ve done it! I’ve reached the midway point – that’s 6 whole months of The Pollyanna Plan completed. And what an incredible 6 months it has been.

So many wonderful things have come out of my mission to improve my health and life through the power of positive, happy feelings – namely my health and my life are improving greatly – and I’m only half way through. Woohoo!

I had an inkling, when I began, that The Pollyanna Plan would change my life, but I completely underestimated the extent to which this would happen and I am grateful for every step I have taken on this journey.

But, here’s the thing that has changed the most – Gratitude. Instead of being something I felt or thought about once in a while, I am gradually making gratitude my default setting.

Take today, for example. I’m not feeling well at all today, but as I was lying in bed this afternoon, instead of  feeling down or thinking about how crap I feel, my mind was set upon finding something to feel grateful for.

Here’s a glimpse into the murky world of my thoughts as I searched for reasons to feel grateful.

“Ok, so I don’t feel great now, but I’ve been feeling so much better recently that I know this won’t last and I will soon get back to feeling good again.

In fact, I’m very grateful that I only feel bad like this occasionally now, as it used to be every day. And, thinking about it, I actually used to feel way worse than this every day.

So, really today isn’t so bad and I’m extremely grateful that, in general, I am now feeling much, much better than I used to. Isn’t my body awesome at healing! Thank you body – You rock! ”

And as if by magic, I feel so much happier and more positive about this little blip in my recovery. I truly believe that no matter how bad things get, there is always, always something to feel grateful and thankful for, if you look hard enough.

thanksgiving-is-a-day-for-giving-thanks-L-03E8cN

Day 182, Reason 182: Today I am so happy and grateful that at the midway point of The Pollyanna Plan, I am making gratitude my default setting. 🙂

183 days to go

183 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

And…

… WE DID IT! We raised £365 for Save the Children in just 178 days – Truly amazing!

Let’s see how much MORE we can raise together in 365 days. 

Even a small donation goes a long , long way:

Just £0.31 buys 8 sachets of Oral Dehydration Salt for a child suffering from dehydration.

If you would like to sponsor me and The Pollyanna Plan, please click on the tab below. You can donate using your chosen currency and ALL donations go directly to Save the Children.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


8 thoughts on “Making Gratitude My Default Setting – Day 182 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Funny, this is EXACTLY how I’m feeling today too. We’re so simpatico! Which is a word I just learned to spell correctly the other day! So I’m grateful about that too!

    Oh dear, I think I need to go lie down. Carry on with the good work. Wake me up in six months so I can see how fabulous you are. 🙂

    1. Haha! I will give you a shout when I’ve finished! 🙂

      It’s a little spooky (to say the least) how we seem to experience very similar symptoms, at the same time!

      Hope you’re feeling much better today. I’m still not too well, but I know it will soon pass. 🙂

  2. Hope the health blip passes quickly. Positive thinking is amazing isn’t it? I couldn’t agree more, there is always always something to be grateful for. Tonight i’m home alone as mr man is out, I could moan about it but in fact I’m grateful for some me time 🙂 I can lay in bed and catch up with my favourite blogs instead. I’m grateful for that. Your blog rocks! It’s so inspirational.

Leave a Reply

