Bygones! – Day 180 of The Pollyanna Plan

Oh how good it is to feel much better today! For the past week, I have really been struggling with poor sleep, complete exhaustion, brain fog and general malaise.

I’ve only hinted at it in my posts, as I wanted my focus to be on my reason to feel glad/happy/joyful and not on this downward turn in my health. But yesterday, I had a big drop in blood sugar, which came from nowhere and left me feeling faint, weak and extremely shaky. I was trembling so badly, I couldn’t even open a jar of honey to get some much-needed sugar. I haven’t had one of those for a long time…thankfully!

Added to this, I haven’t been able to sleep much at all for the past week, and it dawned on me that maybe I needed to put my thyroid medication back up to the dose I was on before.

Having written a post the other day, saying how happy I was that I was reducing my dose of medication, it would be tempting to see this as a failure, or to beat myself up about making a “mistake” and reducing my medication in the first place. After all, my doctor had said that my thyroid levels were great at my last appointment, and it was just my desire to be medication free that motivated me to ask if I could try reducing my dose. But, as Richard Fish says in Ally McBeal, “bygones!”

So, instead of doing all that negative emotion, I chose to feel really grateful that I have now realised what was causing me to feel so bad. And this morning, I put my dose of thyroid medication back up to the level I was on before.

To start with, I didn’t notice any difference, but as the hours have ticked by, I’m beginning to feel much better and more like my normal, happy self. Hoorah!

And who’s to say I won’t be able to reduce my dose again in the near future. I’m never one to give up! 😉

Day 180, Reason 180: Today I am very happy and grateful that I am letting go of the fear of being wrong and making mistakes. 

Image: http://simoneheld.deviantart.com/art/Letting-Go-210776364
Image: http://simoneheld.deviantart.com/art/Letting-Go-210776364

Just the fact I’m admitting this to you is progress!

185 days to go

185 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

And…

… WE DID IT! We raised £365 for Save the Children in just 178 days – Truly amazing!

Let’s see how much MORE we can raise together in 365 days. 

Even a small donation goes a long , long way:

Just £0.31 buys 8 sachets of Oral Dehydration Salt for a child suffering from dehydration.

If you would like to sponsor me and The Pollyanna Plan, please click on the tab below. You can donate using your chosen currency and ALL donations go directly to Save the Children.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


8 thoughts on “Bygones! – Day 180 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Hmm. Your condition always sounds so similar to mine! Lately I’ve been looking into histamine intolerance and mast cell activation disorders, and I do think it has something to do with my issues. I wonder if it’s involved in yours too. You can find info by googling it.

    I started taking something called Histame, which is an enzyme designed to help process excess histamine, and in combination with the other things I’m doing, it seems to be helping. Worth looking into, anyway! I’m glad you’re feeling better today! 🙂

  2. Oh I’m so glad you’re looking at it in a positive light, this post has really cheered me up! as I’m having the same feelings over my anti depressant meds felt like it was a bit of a failure, its so easy to think negatively but such a reward to look at the up side 🙂

    1. I’m so glad my post cheered you up! 🙂 Until recently, I’ve hated taking my thyroid medication every day and dreamt of the day I could come off it completely… even though I’ve been told this isn’t possible. But, yesterday I suddenly realised all the good my medication does for me and instead of feeling negatively towards it, I now really, really appreciate it. 🙂

  3. So positive! Good for you. I must remember ‘bygones’… literally. I know how it feels – this will be my 3rd attempt this year (under doctor’s supervision) to reduce my medication – I am holding out on it being successful – on the harder days I can’t help but think that’s because I have 20mg not 40mg pumping around me! I try to put this thought aside and replace it with – you could still feel this way on 40….
    There are reasons I need to move forward. I have accepted I will probably need the medication for another 8 months or so as it is reviewed bi-monthly (not fortnightly now – whahooo!)

    Just know that what is right for you right now, is right. Why struggle? There will come a time when you are ready and by then it will be easier to accomplish. You are not failing yourself or anyone else! Your body is telling you it needs time to catch up with your mind 😉 x

    1. 🙂 Thank you! That’s such a lovely way to look at it! 🙂 I know I will get there, one way or another.

      Great news about your medication! Keep going – you’re doing brilliantly! 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

