67 Minutes – Day 175 of The Pollyanna Plan

CRCI-News1

I have just returned from doing my 67 minutes for Mandela Day. My Mum and I donned rubber gloves and sun hats and took a big rubbish bag down to the river at the bottom of our hill to pick up litter.

I clambered down the old stone wall into the river bed and passed pieces of rubbish that were stuck in the bull rushes and reeds up to my Mum, who then deposited them in our collection bag. It was hot work and I got bitten by a few pesky mosquitos – I even had to use a long stick to fish litter out of the water – but our 67 minutes flew by in no time. When we had finished, our big collection bag was filled to the brim with plastic bottles, plastic bags, food wrappers etc and I felt that we had done something worthwhile.

The Mandela Day campaign message is this – “Nelson Mandela gave 67 years of his life fighting for the rights of humanity. All we are asking is that everyone gives 67 minutes of their time, whether it’s supporting your chosen charity or serving your local community.”

I have  The Daily Goddess blog to thank for spurring me into action, as I hadn’t heard of Mandela Day before I read her post this afternoon. But once I realised the importance of today – Nelson Mandela’s 95th birthday – how could I not give just 67 minutes of my time, not only for my community and the environment, but to honour such an inspirational and truly great man.

I couldn’t think of a better way to spend 67 minutes than taking a small step towards changing the world for the better. Just imagine what would happen if we all did this every day…

Day 175, Reason 175: Today I feel blessed, honoured and happy to have taken part in Mandela Day. 🙂

If you would like to donate to charity in honour of Mandela Day, maybe you would consider sponsoring me by making a small donation to Save the Children.

190 days to go

190 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

And…

£38.68 to raise for Save the Children – So nearly there to reach my target to raise £365 for 365 days of finding 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful!

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


6 thoughts on “67 Minutes – Day 175 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Love this! I was excited to learn that my husband’s birthday is also Nelson Mandela’s birthday! I want to do my 67 minutes, too. I’ll have to plan it for the weekend though. Sounds like you and your mum did great!

Leave a Reply

