A Mid Year Resolution – Day 165 of The Pollyanna Plan

“The secret of health for both mind and body is not to mourn for the past, worry about the future, or anticipate troubles, but to live in the present moment wisely and earnestly.” – Buddha

As I approach the midway point of The Pollyanna Plan, I think it’s high time for a mid-year resolution. For mid-year, I intend to give up a pointless and fruitless habit that is not only draining my precious energy, but also wasting a lot of my time. And that habit, ladies and gentleman, is none other than worrying.

Yep, I’m a worrier through and through. I worry about big things, little things, things from the past, things that may (or may not) happen in the future, but most of all I worry about what people think of me AND I worry about making mistakes. Phew! It’s exhausting just typing all that, never mind the amount of energy I must expend on actually worrying about all that stuff.

Thanks to The Pollyanna Plan, I’ve managed to curb this pesky habit by focusing on my reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful every day, but yesterday’s little camera drama made me realise I still have a long way to go if I’m going to kick the worry habit.

Yesterday evening, I was practically distraught about not being able to upload the software properly that came with the amazing, new camera I got for my birthday. The reason I was so upset was that I had made a mistake and not followed the instructions correctly, which for a perfectionist like me is torture! (Not feeling well and being completely exhausted from lack of sleep didn’t help either.)

Going for a short walk last night helped me put things into perspective and, this morning, I made it my intention for the day to not worry about the camera problem. I had sent an email to the manufacturer’s customer service department – there was nothing more I could do, so it dawned on me that perhaps there was no point worrying about it. A new concept for me, believe me!

I’d found the customer service helpline number last night, but decided not to call it until I had successfully stopped worrying and got myself back to my happy, harmonious, positive place, which I managed remarkably quickly once I put my mind to it.

And guess what? Yep, that’s right, the lovely people at the customer service place emailed me this afternoon with lots of instructions as to how to fix the problem. This time I followed the instructions VERY carefully – proving that I have indeed learnt from my mistake. 😉

However, it didn’t fix the problem, but staying true to my no-worrying resolution, I emailed them back and had faith that the situation would get resolved one way or another. And within minutes, they sent me a reply, with a link for a download of a software updater, as sometimes the discs they provide don’t upload properly. I downloaded it and abracadabra, my camera connected to my Mac and uploaded all my photos. Yiiippeeeee! 🙂

969623_547799238591967_1801403740_n

The funny thing is, that it turns out that my mistake had nothing to do with why the software wouldn’t upload! So, all that beating myself up about it, was a complete waste of time. I can actually laugh about it today – Progress, progress!

Day 165, Reason 165: Today I am so glad to be giving up worrying and I am equally grateful that my new camera now successfully uploads photos to my Mac. Hoorah! 🙂

Anyone else want to join me in giving up the worrying habit? It’ll be fun, I promise! 🙂

200 days to go

200 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

And…

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children

The Pollyanna Plan is making such a huge difference to my life and it would give me great joy to be able to pay this forward by making a difference to children’s lives around the world. My target is to raise £365 for Save the Children for 365 days of finding 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful.

If you would like to help me reach this target by making a small donation (using your chosen currency,) please click on the tab below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


13 thoughts on “A Mid Year Resolution – Day 165 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Yep, I’m with you on that one. Eckhart Tolle says that worrying is just making up stories about a “now” that hasn’t happened yet, and they’re negative stories at that, which can’t possibly help. Your law of attraction work substitutes positive stories, which are more likely to result in positive outcomes. So you’re on the right track already! So glad you got your camera fixed, though. I wasn’t worried. 🙂

  2. I definitely need to give up worrying. I’m better than I was but still waste far too much precious energy doing it. I find it all too easy to absorb other people’s worries. I need to put myself in a non-worry bubble or something! Great post 🙂

    1. Thank you! 🙂 Like you, I also easily absorb and take on other people’s worries, but I’m determined to break the worrying habit.

      To start with I’m becoming more observant and aware of when a worry creeps into my mind. And when I do notice that I’m starting to worry, I’ve been asking myself, “What do I have to worry about right now, in this moment?” as this helps me bring my focus back to the present. I’ll let you know how I get on!

    2. I read a great book by Dale Carnegie, ‘How to stop worrying and start living’ I’m still working my way through it but its easy to read and absorb and very good tips on how to protect yourself from worry.

      1. Sounds great! Thanks for sharing. I’m reading a book at the moment which is also very good. Putting it into practice is the hard part, but I’m intent on freeing myself from worrying! 🙂

  3. My condition is part anxiety – it is so hard, but not being present in the present is what killed my life off a decade ago – and it has taken getting completely ill to realise this. Fixing one brick at a time.
    But yes – worrying is a waste of time and energy and NO WORRIES is the best thing Australia taught me! I started using it at work years ago – meaning Yes I will do it – and now everyone says it – I am leaving this summer – but I like thinking there will be a chorus of no worries for years to come!

    1. Hehe! “No worries” is a brilliant legacy! Worrying has become such a habit that I don’t realise I’m doing it half the time, so the first step for me is to just to observe myself and notice when I start to worry. I’m beginning to find it quite amusing, which takes the focus away from the worrying! 🙂

  4. My patented solution to not worrying about things is not to think about them at all until they happen. It’s taken years of practice but I’m getting quite good at it 🙂 glad the camera got fixed

Leave a Reply

