There’s Something About Wimbledon – Day 160 of The Pollyanna Plan

“Champions keep playing until they get it right.” Billie Jean King

I love this time of year for many reasons; the summer has arrived, it’s my birthday (very) soon, and tennis at Wimbledon is in full swing.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I am as far removed from a sports fan as you can get, but there’s something magical about Wimbledon that has me glued to the TV each year.

I love the classic English setting, the green grass, the crisp white outfits of the players, the unpredictable weather, the crowds, and the sound of the tennis ball as it connects with the racquets. I love the drama, the struggles, the outpouring of emotions and the triumphs. I love how a player can be all but losing and then turn it around to win a match.

I’m not a tennis player (unless you count a few lessons I had at the age of about 12, which I definitely don’t count) but when I’m watching Wimbledon, I’m out there on the courts battling with my favourite players.

And it’s not just about the tennis. Wimbledon brings out the fighter in me. It inspires me, makes me want to succeed no matter what, to never give up, to overcome my obstacles and to triumph. Who’d have thought I could get all that from watching two people hit a ball over a net, but I do!

Day 160, Reason 160: Today I am very happy to be watching Wimbledon, feeling inspired and eating strawberries. 🙂

wimbledon_2013_tickets_blog_main

Image source: http://greatbritishmag.co.uk

205 days to go

205 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

And…

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children 

The Pollyanna Plan is making such a huge difference to my life and it would give me great joy to be able to pay this forward by making a difference to children’s lives around the world. My target is to raise £365 for Save the Children for 365 days of finding 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful.

If you would like to help me reach this target by making a small donation in your chosen currency, please click on the tab below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


5 thoughts on “There’s Something About Wimbledon – Day 160 of The Pollyanna Plan

    1. Definitely a silver lining! 🙂 Last summer, I was really ill (even worse than usual) for 3 months and unable to leave the house at all. BUT, it meant that I got to watch Wimbledon followed by the Olympics uninterrupted! 🙂

Leave a Reply

