We Don’t Remember Days, We Remember Moments – Day 159 of The Pollyanna Plan

This evening, I have been sitting out on the balcony, in the early evening sunlight, with a notebook and pen, compiling a list of happy, positive memories and experiences.

In the past, when I’ve written a gratitude list, I’ve always found it hard to sustain a feeling of happiness and appreciation for each person or item on my list for more than a few seconds. It’s not that I’m not grateful for those things, I really, really am, it’s just far easier to get into the feeling place of happiness and gratitude when you can relive and replay a memory in your mind, with all the associated feelings, sights, smells, sounds and tastes that go with it.

When I began my list this afternoon, I worried that I didn’t have that many amazing or stand out experiences to write about, but then I realised that they didn’t need to be anything particularly impressive, they just had to mean something to me.

And once I got started, the slow trickle of happy memories soon became a fast flowing river. I couldn’t even write fast enough to get them all down, as one after another they burst forth from my mind.

Happy memories

Image source: https://www.frostbox.com/blog/live-for-the-moment-but-keep-memories-forever

In the end, I came up with 40 memories to feel grateful for, and I intend to add lots more to my list as they come to me. I loved every minute of this process and it was just what I needed today, as I’m still not feeling the best.

Here are just a few of the memories on my list:

* Seeing Saturn through a big, powerful telescope when I was a child. I was in absolute awe (still am) at how it looked so perfectly like the pictures I’d seen in books, and how I could clearly see the rings.

* Catching my first glimpse of Uluru (Ayers Rock) glowing red against the bright blue sky, as my plane came into land.

* Helping to deliver lambs when I was on work experience from school at a local riding stables.

* Watching the super moon rise the other night with my Mum.

Day 159, Reason 159: Today I am basking in the glow of so many happy memories.

“We don’t remember days, We remember moments” – Cesare Pavese

206 days to go

206 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

And…

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children 

The Pollyanna Plan is making such a huge difference to my life and it would give me great joy to be able to pay this forward by making a difference to children’s lives around the world. My target is to raise £365 for Save the Children for 365 days of finding 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful.

If you would like to help me reach this target by making a small donation, please click on the tab below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


4 thoughts on “We Don’t Remember Days, We Remember Moments – Day 159 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. I love this! It’s so true and some of my most precious memories are just simple moments with my family or meditating in nature on camping trips. You got some beautiful moments listed. Here’s to many more. 🙂

  2. It is true – life is pick and mix of moments – some we remember – some we don’t.
    We had my friend from Australia stay with us last month and she couldn’t remember half the things I told her – fragments of days and nights we had shared. To me these were really big, in her mind they had all but vanished. Just goes to show what the experience means to different people – the times and places they remember may not be the same.

    1. That’s so true! But what I think is important is to hold onto and relive those memories and moments that fill us with joy, even if they might not be a big deal to somebody else. 🙂

Leave a Reply

