Looking At My World Through Rose Tinted (Sun)glasses – Day 155 of The Pollyanna Plan

This morning, my Mum and I spent our last, few hours by the hotel pool, before check out time signalled the end of our mini-sort-of-holiday. I say sort-of-holiday, as we were staying in a hotel just a short drive from where we live, so that we could pop home and feed/water/walk our dogs and cats. Still, it felt like a holiday and that’s all that counts!

IMG_0555

My view this morning

So, there I was, lying on my sun lounger, gazing up into the deep, blue sky, soaking up the rays and enjoying the feeling of being a tourist in my own country, when I suddenly thought – We need to do this more often! Not necessarily the hotel part (although I wouldn’t complain), but the taking time out to enjoy the beautiful country we live in and the gorgeous climate that we’re so fortunate to have.

You see, I’m lucky enough to live in a country where thousands of people from around the world choose to come on holiday each year. But, for the past 6 and a half years, I’ve been too ill to be able to make the most of it, or even leave the house much to see it! But, thankfully all that is now changing and, although I still have bad days and my energy levels aren’t the best, things are most definitely looking up. Yippee!

Also, I’ve found that once you’ve lived somewhere for a while, you tend to take for granted all the wonderful things about your country that visitors really appreciate.

So, this summer, it is my intention to see this beautiful country through rose-tinted (sun)glasses and enjoy it as if I were a tourist visiting for the first time! 🙂

Day 155, Reason 155: Today I am so happy and grateful for the beauty and magic of my home country.

210 days to go

210 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

And…

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children to reach my target of £365.

If you would like to help me reach this target by sponsoring The Pollyanna Plan, please click on the tab below to sponsor me today:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


4 thoughts on “Looking At My World Through Rose Tinted (Sun)glasses – Day 155 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. What a gorgeous view I’m jealous! Reading your blog reminds me that my happiness journal that I started a few weeks ago has sort of been forgotten….I must get back onto that!

  2. I have always done the Tourist exercise. it was made easier by the fact that for 18years I moved around a lot and so technically was a tourist initially!
    I often do it. As a time out – well actually that’s a lie – like you I have been unwell and don’t remember much of the past few years, the last time I did the tourist activity was probably 2006 – but it was a fun way to see things again.

Leave a Reply

