Pampering Fit – Day 149 of The Pollyanna Plan

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a beauty regime kind of girl, but every now and then it’s nice to take an hour or two to yourself for a little pampering.

This morning, I indulged in a long, hot shower, followed by a coconut oil hair mask and then a liberal application of almond oil as a moisturiser (I’m only using natural products on my skin and hair these days.) Next up was a dab of eyebrow plucking and finally some nail care – filing and pushing back cuticles.

Unknown

Image source: http://www.subdude-site.com

It’s not that I particularly enjoy doing any of this stuff – I don’t. And it’s not that I’m particularly good at it either – I’m really not. But, I do look and feel better for having put a little effort into maintaining a respectable appearance.

And it’s not that I don’t want to keep on top of these things, it’s just that, for the most part, I lack the health and the energy to even think about pampering and beautifying, let alone actually getting round to doing it. Just the basics like showering and cleaning teeth are a huge effort and when I’m having an autoimmune flare up, my skin is so sore to the touch, that I can’t bare to think about exfoliating, moisturising and whatever else it is that I’m supposed to be doing.

So, it was with great joy today that I plucked, preened, moisturised, filed and buffed.

Day 149, Reason 149: Today I am happy and grateful for having the energy and vitality for a pampering session.

216 days to go

216 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

And…

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children to reach my target of £365.

If you would like to help me reach this target by sponsoring The Pollyanna Plan, please click on the tab below to sponsor me today:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


4 thoughts on “Pampering Fit – Day 149 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Mmm, I like coconut oil as a moisturizer too, but when I put it on my hair it’s way too greasy. I like apple cider vinegar for my hair and skin too, and I put it in a cleansing tonic every morning as well.

    I think maybe you should not say “autoimmune flare up,” which is a label your brain can understand and get attached to, but maybe give it a ridiculous name instead, like when women call their periods Aunt Flo. Then maybe your body will just laugh every time you say it, and eventually decide it’s too silly and stop having them at all. 🙂

    1. I only used a tiny amount of coconut oil on the very ends of my hair, which works well for deep conditioning once in a while.

      I understand what you’re saying about “labelling,” but I only added that sentence in to prove to myself just how far I’ve come. 🙂

  2. I’m with you on this one – not lining up and spending £100’s a month on beauty products or treatments, I think we feel better because we are replenishing ourselves. The same happens to a tree that has been correctly pruned. My skin always feels different (I don’t mean to touch) I mean I can feel the difference – maybe it’s the pores saying ‘thank you!’

Leave a Reply

