Pollyanna’s Happy Meal – Day 148 of The Pollyanna Plan

Before I knew I had food intolerances I used to dread going out for meals, as I usually suffer a whole host of nasty symptoms including, nausea, IBS type symptoms and chronic fatigue and I didn’t really understand why. All in all, it never made for a particularly pleasant experience (understatement) and was something I avoided  like the plague.

But, now I know that the reason I’d often feel so ill, is because I was unknowingly eating many foods to which I am highly intolerant. I still had some of these symptoms when eating at home, of course, but as I tend to cook more simple, fat free meals ( I also can’t digest fat well,) they weren’t as severe.

This morning, I went over to visit my Dad – something in itself which is a great achievement, as I’m not feeling too well today, but I still managed to go! HUGE PROGRESS!

Anyway, where was I? Oh yes, so I went over to see him at the restaurant he owns. As lunch time approached he asked whether I’d like to stay and have something to eat, at which point I’d normally make my excuses and leave. BUT, now that I’ve had a comprehensive food intolerance blood test ,which has highlighted all the foods I’m intolerant to – some I used to eat on a regular basis, as I had no idea they were doing me harm – I can now confidently ask for only my good foods.

6a00d8341c00f553ef01116900ca52970c-350wi

Image: http://berlinswhimsy.typepad.com

I, of course, triple checked with my Dad that the fish and potatoes hadn’t been cooked using any oil, and the salad was dressing free, onion free etc, etc. Man, I must sound like such a bore, but believe me, it’s so much better than feeling ill all the time! Plus, I now have special cards (I had to have more than one, as the list of foods I’m intolerant to is so long) which were provided by the lab that did the test, as proof and documentation that I’m not just being a royal pain in the backside. 😉

Day 148, Reason 148: Today I am so grateful that I, at last,  feel happy and confident in the foods I’m eating. Horrah!

217 days to go

217 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

And…

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children to reach my target of £365.

If you would like to help me reach this target by sponsoring The Pollyanna Plan, please click on the tab below to sponsor me today:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


6 thoughts on “Pollyanna’s Happy Meal – Day 148 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Good for you! Oh, and just for fun sometime, try combining some tapping with eating – you might be surprised at the results. Try telling your body not to be intolerant to the foods you’re eating, but to accept and process them peacefully and normally.

    Tap a little before, during, and after you eat and see what happens. It’s sure been working for me, and I was intolerant to nearly everything. I still have some reactions, but it’s drastically reduced, and so is the “aftermath.” It could be that your body has just gotten hypersensitive and used to the idea that it should freak out over foods, as mine had. Tell it to knock that off, and if you use the tapping it just might listen. 🙂

    1. 🙂 Thank you! That’s the next step of my plan. The first step is to use EFT to start feeling much better on a regular basis. Once I have that tackled, I shall move onto using it for my food intolerances as well. 🙂

    1. Thank you! 🙂 It was so great to feel confident and happy knowing that the foods I was eating weren’t going to make me ill.

      I don’t live in the UK, so I can’t really recommend one there. The test I had done was prescribed by my doctor, although I had to pay privately for it and it was very expensive, but WELL worth it. It was a proper blood test taken by a nurse and covered 200 foods.

      In the past, I bought an online food intolerance test, which was much cheaper, but not at all accurate, so I advise staying well clear of those. Don’t waste your money!

      I read your post about your IBS the other day and my symptoms – which I’ve had for most of my life – sound very similar to yours. I’ve been on my new diet (eating only foods on my “good” list) for a couple of months and already seeing BIG changes. 🙂

      Like you, I’ve been gluten free and dairy free for years and trying all sorts of different diets and supplements, but I’d still suffer IBS symptoms. But now I know that it was due to eating food I had no idea I was intolerant to.

      For example, I’m highly intolerant to Aloe Vera, which was in most of the supplements I was taking. I’m also intolerant to mint and peppermint, which I used to drink on a daily basis, as I thought it was good for my digestive problems. Haha! Not funny, but it kind of is!

      There were lots of foods (42 in total!!) that I’m tolerant to and some of them I was eating every day, as I had no idea. Since cutting these out, I’m starting to feel much better and all the nasty symptoms are disappearing! Yippee!! 🙂

      I highly recommend getting a good quality food intolerance test done to anyone with M.E, Chronic Fatigues Syndrome, Autoimmune Disease, IBS etc.

      Hope this helps. xx

      1. This is so helpful. Thank you so much for taking the time to share all that info with me. Really helpful and so very appreciated by me (and my family who would love me to stop moaning about my bloated belly!) I didn’t know it was even possible to be intolerant to mint and aloe vera, like you, i thought they were good for digestion! food intolerance is a very confusing world.Are you in the US? I’m going to have a look and see what testing is available in the UK. Thanks so much for sharing xx

      2. You’re very welcome. If there is anything else you’d like to know about my experience, please feel free to ask anytime. I live in Southern Europe and I’m sure that if I can find a decent lab here, you will definitely be able to find one in UK! Please let me know how you get on. xx

Leave a Reply

