Tapping into Fate – Day 143 of The Pollyanna Plan

I woke up today and the headache that has haunted me for the past week had gone! Woohoo! I put this down to one of two things…or both:

1. I bought a sea salt nasal spray to help clear my sinuses, which have been blocked due to hay fever. I used it several times yesterday and, although it’s not a pleasant experience, it seemed to help.

2. I tried EFT/ Emotional Freedom Technique as suggested by Jennifer Flint on  her blog post, A Happy Tapper.

I first came across EFT (or tapping) years ago when I was travelling around Australia. I had got talking to an older lady staying in the same dorm as me, in a hostel in Broome. During the conversation, I mentioned how I had suffered from M.E/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome for years and how, although at the time my health was much improved, my energy was still a little low. She suggested I try EFT – something I’d never heard of before. However, our discussion took place, as she was packing to leave and hurrying to catch a bus, so sadly I didn’t get to find out anymore.

Then about a week later, I left Broome and headed for Darwin. I was walking through the hostel I was staying at  in Darwin when, as fate would have it, I bumped into the same lady. She ushered me into the dorm she was staying in, sat me down and proceeded to teach me EFT. I have to admit that I didn’t really give it much of a chance, as, if the truth be known, it looked and sounded pretty mad – it still does, but bear with me! 😉

The following year, EFT made a second appearance, when I went to a hypnotherapist in an attempt to deal with a phobia (that’s a whole different story.) This time, I was much more open to it and gave it a proper go, but sadly I didn’t have much success.

I have tried many, many different things in my quest for good health, some have made little to no difference at all and others have actually made me much worse, so when Jennifer kindly wrote a comment on one of my posts and suggested I try EFT for my food intolerances etc, I felt quite reluctant.

But, then I reasoned that the worst that could happen with EFT is that nothing would change, so I really had nothing to lose. Besides, maybe EFT was showing up in my life again for a reason. Since beginning The Pollyanna Plan, I’ve noticed that several things have come up that have initiated a big step forward in my healing – take my food intolerance blood test for example, which has made a huge difference to so many of my previous symptoms. Coincidence or fate?

So, it was with an open mind and a willing heart that I began tapping yesterday, following along with the video in Jennifer’s post (Big thank you to Jennifer!) I noticed straight away that although my headache and hay fever symptoms didn’t magically disappear, they did improve a little. Scientifically, it wasn’t a fair experiment, as I also used the sea salt spray several times, but  as I mentioned at the beginning of this post, today I am headache free, so either way I’m happy.

The one thing that bothered me about EFT though is that you have to focus on, and really get into the feeling place of whatever problem/issue you want to release. For me, this goes against the principles of The Pollyanna Plan and everything I am trying to achieve by focusing on happy, positive feelings.

Some more research was needed and today I found just the thing – a video on YouTube, where after the first round of tapping, where you focus on the problem and all the negatives involved, the second round of tapping focuses on affirmations and seeing yourself as you’d like to be. I tried it for my extremely low energy levels and definitely noticed some improvement. Maybe this has come at the right time now, as I feel that spiritually, I’m more in tune than I’ve ever been. Maybe this is fate? I shall keep following the signs and see where they take me.

6827772914_e9837610d3_z_large

Image source: http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com

Day 143, Reason 143: Today I am grateful and so happy that everything I need to heal myself completely is showing up at exactly the right time in my life.

222 days to go

222 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

And…

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children to reach my target of £365.

If you would like to help me reach this target by sponsoring The Pollyanna Plan, the money you donate will go directly to Save the Children, who work in 120 countries around the world, saving children’s lives,  fighting for their rights and helping them fulfil their potential.

I would be so grateful for any donation, no matter how small.

Please click on the tab below to sponsor me today:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


3 thoughts on “Tapping into Fate – Day 143 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Hey, that’s so great, I’m really glad to hear you’re giving it another go. It’s been just miraculous for me, although everyone is different, so who knows?

    I have to say that I had the same issue with it that you did – I found that focusing on my “issues” or anxieties or whatever tended to increase them despite the tapping, so I completely quit doing that after a while. I find that the tapping works great on a purely physical level (it seems to be a form of acupressure), so now I either use affirmations, general statements, or no statements at all. I’m quite casual about the whole thing, really.

    I just tap when I feel like it, and often not even with full rounds. I have a couple of “shortcut” tap spots that I use whenever I need them – my favorite is under my cheekbone, which isn’t even on their map! But it works for me – it makes me yawn, which is my sign that I’m releasing tension. I like the spot right under my nose, too.

    I use statements while I tap like “I release, relax, and receive,” which I figure covers a lot of things. When I eat, I say things like “My body will react calmly and peacefully and give me perfect health,” and I tap a little before, during, and after. It seems to work really well, and I’m feeling tons better and able to eat almost normally now. I couldn’t be happier with it! In fact, I should adapt this comment for my own blog to update my readers.

    Please let me know how you come along with it, I’m really curious! Good luck! 🙂

    1. Thank you and thank you so much for suggesting that I should give it another go. I’m finding it really helpful and like you, I’m also taking a causal approach and just doing/saying what feels right for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

