Where There’s A Will, There’s A Way – Day 133 of The Pollyanna Plan

I have been on a spaghetti squash hunt for the past few months. You see, since finding out that I’m intolerant to every grain and cereal imaginable, I can no longer eat spaghetti of any variety and it’s the one food I really miss.

So, I was delighted when one of the lovely readers of my blog told me about spaghetti squash as an alternative. I have to admit that I’d never even heard of a spaghetti squash before, and it turns out that no one else round here has heard of one either. My Mum and I have scoured supermarkets, the fresh produce markets, you name it, and not one single person knows what a spaghetti squash is, let alone where I can buy one.

Last night, my Mum went out for dinner with her friend, Jane, and the spaghetti squash topic came up (naturally!) Jane lives abroad and said how she’s eaten spaghetti squash before (apparently, it’s delicious) as her neighbour used to grow it. She suggested growing our own, which in theory is a fantastic idea, but we still had the problem of where to buy the seeds. Jane whipped out her phone, did a quick internet search and found that you can order them online. Who’d have thought?

garden6

Image source: http://marigoldnurseries.com

Most of today has been a wash out, as I’m still sleeping really badly and I’m struggling through a haze of exhaustion. Just finding the energy to string a sentence together is hard work, let alone finding my happy feeling place. But, just when I was wondering what on earth my reason to feel glad/happy/joyful today would be, my Mum announced that she had bought us a packet of spaghetti sqaush seeds online. 🙂

Day 133, Reason 133: Today I am happy to be a step closer towards tasting my first spaghetti squash.

Now, we just need to grow them! Any tips?

232 days to go

232 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

And…

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children to reach my target of £365.

If you would like to help me reach this target by sponsoring The Pollyanna Plan, the money you donate will go directly to Save the Children, who work in 120 countries around the world, saving children’s lives, fighting for their rights and helping them fulfil their potential.

I would be so grateful for any donation, no matter how small.

Please click on the tab below to sponsor me today:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


7 thoughts on “Where There’s A Will, There’s A Way – Day 133 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Lol, that’s great. You’ll love them! Just don’t wait too long to eat them, or they’ll end up re-growing themselves. I hope this link works, so you can see what I mean. It isn’t pretty. 😛

      1. I wish I could mail you one, but I think sending produce overseas is probably against the rules and might not arrive well. Maybe it’ll be less time than you think anyway.

Leave a Reply

