The Holiday – Day 132 of The Pollyanna Plan

“To bring anything into your life, imagine that it’s already there.” — Richard Bach

Day 132, Reason 132: Today I am so happy and excited about having a holiday (of sorts) and I’m amazed at how things have fallen into place to make it happen.

1311893309q40rYK

Image source: http://www.dreamstime.com

A while back, my Mum was given some vouchers by her bank for a hotel stay, as part of a reward scheme. We planned to go for her birthday later this month, to celebrate in style and have a holiday (of sorts.) The problem is that we don’t have anyone to look after our cats and dogs while we are away.

However, we discovered that there is a hotel just along the coast from where we live that accepts the vouchers. Now, don’t laugh, but our plan is to make full use of the hotel facilities throughout the day – swimming pool, delicious hotel buffet breakfast etc – and then we might actually have to sleep the night at home, or at least take it in turns, because of our pets. Still, it’s free and it will be a real treat anyway.

I’ve been meaning to book for the past few weeks, but I haven’t got around to it, and a few days ago I heard a rumour that hotels in the area are fully booked this month. Hmm! Remembering how well the Law of Attraction seems to be working for me though, I decided to take no notice of this and visualised us booking a room at the hotel.

Yesterday, I tried to make the reservation online, but there was no availability for the dates we wanted. I tried several different websites (even the ones that can get special deals) and every single one of them said that there were no rooms available. I also tried calling the hotel, but there was never any answer. Added to this, it turns out the hotel in question has rooms with kitchenettes and no free breakfast – handy for me with my food intolerances, but the buffet breakfast is my Mum’s favourite part. Things didn’t seem to be going to plan.

However, I was not to be deterred! So, last night, I played a little game where I talked out loud to anyone who wanted to listen (within the confines of my own home, of course) and imagined how fantastic it was that we were going on our mini holiday and had booked the exact hotel we wanted, for the exact dates we wanted, with a sea view and a buffet breakfast. Perfect!

And lo and behold, when I called the hotel again this morning, not only did someone actually answer the phone, but they had ONE room available (just so happens it has a sea view,) on the exact dates we wanted (we have enough vouchers for 2 nights – woohoo!) and magically there is a kitchenette in the room and also a buffet breakfast included in the price- the price being completely free, because we can use our vouchers! I’m still amazed! 🙂

233 days to go

233 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

And…

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children to reach my target of £365.

If you would like to help me reach this target by sponsoring The Pollyanna Plan, the money you donate will go directly to Save the Children, who work in 120 countries around the world, saving children’s lives, fighting for their rights and helping them fulfil their potential.

I would be so grateful for any donation, no matter how small.

Please click on the tab below to sponsor me today:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.


9 thoughts on “The Holiday – Day 132 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. That’s so awesome! I’m totally jealous. I could really use a holiday myself, except that we have the same problem you do – finding someone to take care of our mini-menagerie. I hope you guys have a fantastic time, though. I’d say you’ve positively earned it! 🙂

  2. Wonders! You are getting good at the law of attraction! And it doesn’t make any difference once you’re inside a hotel where you are. Hope you both have a great break!

Leave a Reply

