The Lighthouse – Day 126 of The Pollyanna Plan

Today has not been a great day health-wise and some other rubbish stuff has been going on, but no matter, because I have a wonderful reason to feel glad/happy/joyful!

This afternoon, my Mum returned home having bought the most beautiful prints from a friend of a friend. I instantly fell in love with one of them, as not only are the colours exquisite, but it depicts a seascape with a solitary lighthouse standing on a headland in the distance.

IMG_0462

Please excuse the reflection!

I was struck, not only, by the beauty of the print, but also by the powerful emotion it evoked within me and I was reminded of these  words:

“Lighthouses don’t go running all over an island looking for boats to save; they just stand there shining.” Anne Lamott

I love this quote – even more so now that I have set forth on this journey of healing and self discovery through the power of positive feelings.

Everyone has their own interpretation, I’m sure, but to me the words are very calming and reassuring and encourage me to keep shining my light, standing firm in my beliefs and what I am doing, no matter what is going on around me. Particularly poignant today! I often visualise a lighthouse when I’m in need of some confidence and strength, after all, a lighthouse weathers many storms. I find the image and the words so inspiring.

I’ve been gazing at the print since it’s arrival and my Mum has just surprised me with the news that she’d like to give it to me as a present. I’m stunned, delighted and so very grateful all at once!

Day 126, Reason 126: Today I am over the moon to not only own my first piece of artwork, but also to own a print that means so much to me.

239 days to go

239 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children

If you can find it in your heart to sponsor me on my healing journey through The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful)  your money will go directly to my chosen charity, Save the Children, whose vital work reaches more than 80 million children each year.

To donate or to  find out more, please click on the tab below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

 

 


4 thoughts on “The Lighthouse – Day 126 of The Pollyanna Plan

Leave a Reply

