If We Didn’t Have 2 Dogs And 2 Cats – Day 123 of The Pollyanna Plan

I’m not usually a fan of forwarded emails, but I received an email today all about pets that made me chuckle. In fact, it inspired my reason to feel glad/happy/joyful today.

The email begins: “If I Didn’t Have A Dog or A Cat” and this is my version:

If We Didn’t Have 2 Dogs And 2 Cats

SDC19693

  • Our floors, clothing, surfaces would be hair free.
  • We wouldn’t have to step over furry bodies strewn around the house all the time.
  • When the doorbell rings we wouldn’t have to fight our way through the excitement of wagging tails to the front door.
  • We could go away on holiday whenever we like.
  • The most used words in my vocabulary would not be, Sit, Wait, Leave It and Come Here!
  • The house would not be cordoned off into zones with makeshift barriers.
  • We wouldn’t have to manically rush around and remove evidence of all the barriers and animal blankets when expecting visitors.
  • I would be able to leave my bedroom door open, without fear of our senior cat peeing in there.
  • I would be able to put on my walking shoes without enthusiastic assistance of the furry variety.
  • We would be able to put clothes out to dry flat without a cat making its bed on them.
  • I would no longer have to spell out the words B-I-S-C-U-I-T and W-A-L-K.

BUT…

IMG_0459

If We Didn’t Have 2 Dogs And 2 Cats

IMG_0448

  • I wouldn’t have company all day, every day – having been ill and housebound for so long, this is a huge blessing.
  • I wouldn’t get nearly as many hugs.
  • We wouldn’t feel as safe in our house, without the 2 big dogs.
  • I wouldn’t be made to go out for a walk every day, for some fresh air and exercise.
  • We would have to bend down and pick up any food that was accidentally dropped on the floor.
  • We would actually have to throw away left over food.
  • There wouldn’t be a welcome party to greet us, even if we’ve only been out 5 minutes.
  • My feet would get cold without a furry body lying on them.
  • Similarly my lap.
  • We would need a door bell.
  • I wouldn’t laugh at all the funny things they get up to.

IMG_0446

And best of all…

  • I wouldn’t have nearly as much love in my life!

Day 123, Reason 123: Today I am so happy and grateful to have my pets in my life. 🙂

242 days to go

242 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children

If you can find it in your heart to sponsor me on my healing journey through The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful)  your money will go directly to my chosen charity, Save the Children, whose vital work reaches more than 80 million children each year.

To donate or to  find out more, please click on the tab below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

 

 


2 thoughts on “If We Didn’t Have 2 Dogs And 2 Cats – Day 123 of The Pollyanna Plan

Leave a Reply

